K-pop: Treasure announces 10-member comeback; 2 members go on hiatus

April Benjamin, ABS-CBN News

Posted at May 27 2022 06:45 PM

Photo from @ygtreasuremaker/Twitter
Photo from @ygtreasuremaker/Twitter

South Korean boy group Treasure will be making a splash this summer with new music, sans 2 members.

K-pop giant YG Entertainment said Friday that its youngest group is gearing up for a new release this summer (Korean summer is sometime around June-August), with recordings and negotiations for music video filming already underway.

The positive news, however, comes with the announcement that only 10 members of the 12-piece act will be participating in the new record. 

Member Bang Ye-dam decided to focus on studying music production, while Mashiho extended his break due to health reasons, the record label said.

“While always putting in effort to support our artists’ growth, we consider the members’ health to be the top priority," YG said in a statement translated by K-pop news site Soompi

Watch more News on iWantTFC

Earlier this year, Ye-dam officially debuted as a composer and lyricist with Treasure's b-side song "Darari," which became viral on TikTok with millions dancing to a fan-made choreography. He also produced labelmate Kang Seungyoon's digital single "Born To Love You" released last March.

Meanwhile, Mashiho was seen leaving Korea for his home country of Japan last May 15. He was expected to return to Seoul last Wednesday with fellow Japanese members Yoshi, Asahi, and Haruto.

The comeback announcement comes 3 months since the release of the mini album "The Second Step: Chapter One" in February and 6 weeks after their 2-day concert in April. 

Apart from the upcoming music, Treasure is also preparing for a concert tour in Japan from November to January 2023.

Debuted in August 2020, Treasure is the newest act from the same music label that introduced Bigbang, 2NE1, WINNER, iKON, and Blackpink.

Related video:

Watch more News on iWantTFC