Margielyn Didal earns Olympic berth, PH skate body announces


Posted at Jun 05 2021 07:25 AM | Updated as of Jun 05 2021 04:24 PM

Margielyn Didal earns Olympic berth, PH skate body announces 1
Margielyn Didal celebrates after winning the gold medal at the skating event in the 2019 SEA Games. File photo. George Calvelo, ABS-CBN News

MANILA—Filipino skater Margielyn Didal has earned a slot to the Tokyo Olympics, the Skateboarding Association of the Philippines (SAP), the sport's national governing body, announced early Saturday. 

The SAP wrote the post on Instagram ahead of the finals of the Street World Championships 2021 in Rome on Sunday, when those who qualified for the Japan Games are to be confirmed. 

Despite placing 17th at the end of the semifinals in Rome, Didal qualified because of her world ranking at No. 13; the top 16 in her event earn Olympic berths.

Olympic slots also go to those who finish in the top 3 at the Street Worlds and one for host Japan, according to World Skate, the sport's world governing body.

"The official announcement of qualified skaters will only be released after the World Championships Finals in Rome, but Skate Pilipinas would like to be the first to announce that our very own @margielyndidal has earned a slot for the Tokyo Olympics. Congratulations Margie! Mabuhay ka Margie!" SAP said in an Instagram post. 

The 22-year-old Cebuana skater's placement will make her the 10th Filipino to compete in the quadrennial games, where skateboarding is making its debut this year. 

Filipino athletes who earlier qualified for the Olympics are weightlifter Hidilyn Diaz, boxers Eumir Marcial, Irish Magno, Nesthy Petecio and Carlo Paalam, gymnast Caloy Yulo, pole vaulter EJ Obiena, taekwondo Jin Kurt Barbosa, and rower Cris Nievarez. 

Didal won gold in the women's street events in the Asian Games in 2018 and in the 2019 Southeast Asian Games.

The Tokyo Olympics is set to push through in July following postponement last year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 


Watch more News on iWantTFC

— with reports from Dyan Castillejo, ABS-CBN News