UAAP: UST's Rondina is Season 81 MVP

Camille B. Naredo, ABS-CBN News

Posted at May 10 2019 03:18 PM

UAAP: UST's Rondina is Season 81 MVP 1
UST captain Sisi Rondina is the Season 81 MVP. Arvin Lim, ABS-CBN Sports

MANILA, Philippines -- University of Santo Tomas' beloved team captain, Sisi Rondina, is the Most Valuable Player of the UAAP Season 81 women's volleyball tournament, following an incredible campaign that saw her lead the Golden Tigresses to the Finals.

Rondina, UST's graduating open spiker, won the top individual award in the tournament after finishing as the league's leading scorer (259 points), the second most efficient spiker (33.38 percent), and ninth-best digger (3.98 digs per set) at the end of the elimination round.

The high-leaping spiker from Cebu led the Tigresses to a 10-4 win-loss record, and powered them to a playoff win over De La Salle University to claim the second seed. UST would go on to dethrone the Lady Spikers in the Final 4, to reach their first Finals since Season 73.

Rondina was carried on the shoulders of their assistant coach, Yani Fernandez, following their five-set win over La Salle on Sunday as the crowd showered her with "M-V-P" chants. 

"They're happy lang talaga," Rondina said of the crowd's reaction to her. "I'm thankful na MVP ako sa kanila, sa mga mata nila."

Rondina collected 259 points off 231 kills, 15 blocks, and 13 service aces.

She is the first UST player to win MVP honors since Venus Bernal in Season 69.

Her teammate, Eya Laure, earned Rookie of the Year honors after placing second in the scoring race with 230 points (196 kills, 19 blocks, 15 aces), while also being the most efficient spiker in the league at 35.9%.

Laure matches the achievement of older sister EJ, who was the co-Rookie of the Year in Season 78. She is also the second straight UST player to win the award after Fil-Italian Milena Alessandrini nabbed the honor in Season 80.

The outstanding players will receive their awards before Game 2 of the UAAP Season 81 Finals. 

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.