Super typhoon Lawin makes landfall in Cagayan


Posted at Oct 20 2016 12:06 AM | Updated as of Oct 20 2016 10:32 AM

Super typhoon Lawin makes landfall in Cagayan 1

MANILA – Super typhoon Lawin made landfall in Peñablanca, Cagayan at 11 p.m. on Wednesday, PAGASA said.

The super typhoon, which has a massive 800-kilometer diameter, is expected to wreak havoc in northern and eastern Luzon, bringing moderate to heavy rains in affected areas.

According to PAGASA, the super typhoon will cross the provinces of Apayao and Ilocos Norte, before exiting the Philippine area of responsibility Thursday evening.

Five areas were placed under storm signal number 5. These are Cagayan, Isabela, Kalinga, Apayao, Northern Abra and Ilocos Norte.

This is the first time state weather bureau PAGASA issued a storm signal number 5.

Meanwhile, the rest of Abra, Ilocos Sur, Mt. Province, Ifugao and Calayan Group of Islands were placed under storm signal number 4.

Storm signal number 2 was hoisted over the following areas:

  • Batanes Group of Islands
  • Pangasinan
  • Rest of of Aurora
  • Tarlac
  • Nueva Ecija
  • Northern Zambales
  • Northern Quezon including Polillo Islands

Meanwhile, signal number 1 was declared in these areas: 

  • Rest of Zambales
  • Bulacan
  • Bataan
  • Pampanga
  • Rizal
  • Rest of Quezon
  • Cavite
  • Laguna
  • Batangas
  • Camarines Norte
  • Camarines Sur
  • Catanduanes
  • Albay
  • Metro Manila

Classes have been suspended in areas affected by super typhoon Lawin. For a list of class suspensions for Thursday, October 20, 2016, click HERE.

Visit the ABS-CBN Weather Center for the latest weather updates.