Compostela Valley renamed Davao de Oro

Arianne Merez, ABS-CBN News

Posted at May 23 2019 04:06 PM | Updated as of May 23 2019 05:01 PM

MANILA - President Rodrigo Duterte has signed into law a measure renaming the province of Compostela Valley to Davao de Oro.

Republic Act No. 11297 signed on April 17, sets a uniform “Davao” name for all the provinces in Southern Mindanao or Region 11.

It is still subject to a plebiscite.

Prior to the name change, Compostela Valley was the only province in the region to not bear the name “Davao.” 
Other provinces in the region are Davao del Norte, Davao Oriental, Davao Occidental, and Davao del Sur.

Known as the country's gold capital, Compostela Valley has a population of 736,107 based on a 2015 census.