'Yes' votes prevailed in Bangsamoro plebiscite in Lanao del Sur

Rod Bolivar, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Jan 22 2019 08:33 PM

MARAWI CITY — Most residents of Lanao del Sur ratified the Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL), based on unofficial but complete provincial results. 

The Provincial Plebiscite Board of Canvassers (PPBOC) completed the tabulation votes coming from Marawi City and 39 municipalities on Tuesday afternoon.

Out of 554,552 registered voters, 503,420 residents voted in favor of including Lanao del Sur in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM), while only 9,735 residents voted against it.

“I am happy with the turnout of votes,” said Lanao del Sur PBBOC chairman Atty. Allan Kadon.

“It is a manifestation na' yung willingness ng mga tao from Lanao del Sur, their willingness na maipasa yung bagong batas and to have that longing for lasting peace dito sa mga Bangsamoro people.”

Commission on Elections officials from Lanao del Norte also observed the plebiscite in Lanao del Sur because on February 6, it will be the turn of the residents of Lanao del Norte to decide whether or not they want the towns of Baloi, Pantar, Munai, Nunungan, Tangcal, and Tagoloan to be included in the BARMM.

The BARMM will replace the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao.