Lea Salonga wins Entertainer of the Year at Aliw Awards 2016


Posted at Dec 02 2016 02:18 PM

Lea Salonga wins Entertainer of the Year at Aliw Awards 2016 1
Lea Salonga. Photo from Facebook.com/MsLeaSalonga

MANILA - Broadway star and "The Voice of the Philippines" coach Lea Salonga won Entertainer of the Year in this year's Aliw Awards.

This is her second Entertainer of the Year Award since 2004.

Presidential son Sebastian "Baste" Duterte, meanwhile, was honored with the Best New Male Artist Award.

This year's Aliw Awards was held on November 30 at Dusit Thani Hotel, with the event featuring performances from Gerphil Flores, Joanna Ampil, Mitoy Yonting, Carla Guevara Laforteza, Club Mwah Performers, Halili-Cruz Dance Company, Darius Razon, the Angelos and Demie Fresco.

Below is the full list of winners of Aliw Awards 2016:

Entertainer of the Year: Lea Salonga

Best Crossover Performer and Best Major Concert.: Gerphil Flores

Best Child Performer: Noel Comia, Jr.

Best New Male Artist: Baste Duterte

Best New Female Artist: Demie Fresco

Best New Group Artist: Crib

Best Dance Company: Junior New System

Best Cultural Group: Singhay Dapitan

Best Festival Practices and Performance: Banbanti Festival of Isabela

Best Instrumentalist: Merjohn Lagaya

Best DJ for Electronic Dance Music: Jennifer Lee

Best Major Concert (Group): Metro Manila Concert Orchestra

Best Classical Dancer: Jessa Balote

Best Classical Performer(Male): Al Gatmaitan

Best Classical Performer (Female): Cynthia Guico

Best Crossover Performer (Group): P.A.R.D.

Best Production for Children: "Si Ba-og at Unggoy" (Singhay

Best Non-Musical Production: "Happiness is a Pearl"

Best Musical Production (foreign material): "Annie"

Best Original Musical Production: "Katips, Mga Bagong Katipunero"

Best Stage Director (Non-Musical): Ricardo Abad

Best Stage Director (Musical): Vince Tanada

Best Actress in a Featured Role: Kitkat

Best Actor in a Featured Role: Paul Jake Paule

Best Ensemble Performance: The Cast of "Jersey Boys"

Best Performance in a New Concept Production: Gene Maglangit

Best New Concept Production: Joie de Vivre of Singhay Dapitan

Best Director for a New Concept Production: Peter Macrohon

Best Concert Stage Director: Floy Quintos

Best Musical Director: Jesse Lucas

Best Stand-Up Comedian: Jose Manalo

Best Female Host: Gladys Reyes

Best Male Host: RJ Ledesma

Best Stage Actor (Non-Musical): Leo Rialp

Best Stage Actress (Non-Musical): Pinky Amador

Best Actor (Musical) : Nyoy Volante

Best Actress (Musical): Joanna Ampil

Best Performer in Hotels, Bars and Restaurants: Aiza Seguerra

Best Group Performers in Hotels, Bars and Restaurants: Rockin’

Best Performance in a Concert: Jed Madela

Best Performance in a Concert (Female): Jessa Zaragoza

Best Instrumentalist (Group): Drum & Lyre Ensemble of Gloria's
Fantasyland in Dapitan

Best Collaboration in a Concert: Martin Nievera, Regine Velasquez, Angeline Quinto and Erik Santos for "The Royals"

Best Major Concert (Foreign Venue): Lea Salonga

Discoveries of the Year: Krystal Brimner and Isabeli Araneta Elizalde for "Annie"

Breakthrough Performance Awards: Halili Cruz Junior Ballet Company and Adelle Ibarrientos Lim

Lifetime Achievement Awardees: Shirley Halili Cruiz, Anton Juan, Dante Balois, Len Ag Santos Siasoco and Cris Nicolas
Special Awardees: MSU Sining Kambayoka, Darius Razon and Carla Guevara Laforteza

Hall of Fame: Angelos, Mitoy Yonting, Nonon Padilla, Dondi Ong and Camille Lopez Molina