WATCH: ‘Bro, Ikaw Ang Star ng Pasko’ returns for ABS-CBN’s 2019 Christmas station ID


Posted at Nov 18 2019 07:52 PM | Updated as of Nov 18 2019 09:26 PM

MANILA — ABS-CBN on Monday released its 2019 Christmas station ID, “Family is Forever,” featuring a medley of its past holiday theme songs, including the well-loved tune “Bro, Ikaw Ang Star ng Pasko.”

Watch more News on iWantTFC

Now considered a Filipino Christmas anthem, “Star ng Pasko,” about hope and unity amid challenges, was launched in 2009 in the aftermath of typhoon Ondoy.

The release of “Family is Forever” marks the 10th anniversary of that iconic station ID, as well as the 65th year of ABS-CBN.

Performed by “The Voice Kids” finalists and coaches Sarah Geronimo, Bamboo, and Lea Salonga, the new medley also includes the memorable songs “Thank You for the Love,” “Just Love Ngayong Pasko,” and “Family is Love.”

“Family is Forever” also brings together Kapamilyas whose inspiring stories were featured in past ABS-CBN Christmas station IDs, with hundreds of artists and employees paying them tribute.

Watch more News on iWantTFC

Among them are the Noblezeda “Keribels” family from Iloilo who always has a happy disposition amid life’s obstacles; Marielle Hernali, a Typhoon Yolanda survivor from Tacloban who graduated as valedictorian in her class; Arnel Aba, a one-legged swimmer who won a gold medal in the ASEAN ParaGames; Jan Aure Gascon, the student from Abra with a simple dream of owning a pencil; El Gamma Penumbra, the shadow dancing group from Batangas who won the top prize in "Asia’s Got Talent"; and the Garcia brothers from Pangasinan whose love for their country as soldiers is as strong as their love for their family.

“Family is Forever” was created by ABS-CBN Creative Communications Management Division headed by Robert Labayen, Johnny De Los Santos and Patrick de Leon, and COO for Broadcast Cory Vidanes.

The station ID was directed by Paolo Ramos with second unit directors Lorenz Roi Morales and Peewee Azarcon Gonzales. The medley was written by Robert Labayen and Lloyd Oliver Corpuz, and brought to life by composers Thyro Alfaro and Lloyd Oliver Corpuz.