SEA Games PH e-sports team training pool announced

Angela Coloma, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Jul 29 2019 10:07 PM | Updated as of Jul 30 2019 03:22 PM

MANILA -- The Philippine Southeast Asian Games E-sports Union (PSEU), the committee in charge of the country’s SEA Games e-sports operations, on Monday announced that it has named Philippine’s e-sports team Sibol (growth).


In a statement, PSEU said Sibol will be pooling players for all six titles — DoTA 2, StarCraft II, Arena of Valor, Mobile Legends: Bang Bang, and Tekken 7. 

“Flaunting our national colors, the Sibol logo is an amalgam of the leaf and the flame. The leaf symbolizes new beginnings while the flame represents the passion of the Filipino gamer,” PSEU said. 

A qualifier round to be held in August will determine who among the players in Sibol’s training pool will make the final cut. 

The final list of players will include seven players each for team games such as Dota 2, Mobile Legends: Bang Bang, and Arena of Valor; and two bets for the individual games such as Tekken 7, Hearthstone, and StarCraft II

Selected players have also been directly invited to the tournament, including the country’s prized players in international competitions such as TNC Predator, Mineski, Bren Esports, Cignal Ultra, and ArkAngel, among others. 

Aside from the directly invited players, PSEU will also open the qualifiers to all Filipino citizens aged 13 and above. 

Esports, which will be a medal sport for the SEA Games, will be held at the FilOil Flying V Centre in San Juan. Esports as a medal sport in the SEA Games is the first in a multi-sport competition. 

Here are the players included in the training pool: 

Dota 2
* Carlo “Kuku” Palad (TNC Predator) 
* Timothy John “Tims” Randrup (TNC Predator) 
* Kim “Gabbi” Santos (TNC Predator) 
* Armel “Armel” Tabios (TNC Predator) 
* Nico “Eyyou” Barcelon (TNC Predator) 
* Federico “DJ” Mampusti (FNATIC) 
* Marc Polo Luis “Raven” Fausto (TNC Predator) 
* Abed Azel “Abed” Yusop (FNATIC)
* Michael “ninjaboogie” Ross Jr. (Mineski) 
* Ryan Jay “Bimbo” Qui (Mineski)

StarCraft II
* Caviar “Enderr” Acampado (Liyab Esports) 

Arena of Valor
* Kevin Kio “Gambit” Dizon (Liyab Esports)
* Jeremiah “1717” Camarillo (Liyab Esports)
* Jevan Lorenzo “Alphacat” Delos Santos (Liyab Esports)
* Lawrence Anthony “Rubixx” Gatmaitan (Liyab Esports)
* Miguel Klarenz “Miggie” Banaag (Liyab Esports)

Mobile Legends: Bang Bang
* Carlito “Ribo” Ribo (Bren Esports) 
* Erwin “Yakou” Magno (Cignal Ultra) 
* Jeniel “Haze” Bata-Anon (Bren Esports) 
* Marc Danielle “Dee” San Luis (Cignal Ultra) 
* Yuji “Yuji” Aizawa (Bren Esports)
* Angelo Kyle “Pheww” Arcangel (Cignal Ultra)
* Renz Carlo “Pein” Reyes (Bren Esports) 
* Lester “Tets” Santos (Cignal Ultra) 
* Ralph Mico “Coco” Sampang (Bren Esports) 
* Mark “Dysania” Cruz (Cignal Ultra) 
* Ephraim Jueinno “Ejhay” Sambrano (Bren Esports) 
* Gerardo “Eson” Mark Jayson (Cignal Ultra) 
* Jeff Franklin “Jeffqt4ever” Anaya (ArkAngel)
* Allan Sancio “Lusty” Castromayor (ArkAngel)
* Jason Rafael “Jay” Torculas (ArkAngel) 
* Ashleymarco “Killuash” Cruz (ArkAngel) 
* Kyle “Ryo” Berceño (ArkAngel) 

Tekken 7
* Andreij Hosea “Doujin” Albar (Playbook Esports)
* Alexandre Gabrielle “AK” Laverez (Playbook Esports) 

* Jacinta “Jia” Dee
* Euneil “Staz” Javiñas

For more sports stories, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website