UAAP: Thirdy Ravena, Chloe Daos named Ateneo’s top athletes


Posted at May 29 2020 09:17 PM

Thirdy Ravena and Chloe Daos respectively earned the Guidon-Moro Lorenzo sportsman and sportswoman of the year award. 

Ravena is the first basketball player to win the award since Nonoy Baclao in 2010.

For champion swimmer Daos, it is her second citation after winning in 2018, her rookie year. She was also named this year's Ambrosio Padilla Athlete of the Year.

Ravena steered the Blue Eagles to a 16-0 sweep and the championship, including a third finals MVP, a first in UAAP history. He started the year as part of the Gilas Pilipinas team that saw action in the 2019 FIBA World Cup qualifiers.

Daos continued her dominant run in the UAAP, winning all seven of her events in October to hike her collegiate tally to 21 golds.

Other nominees in the male category were reigning two-time UAAP backstroke king Aki Cariño and individual foil gold medalist Jaime Viceo in fencing; on the women's side badminton co-finals MVPs Geva De Vera and Chanelle Lunod were also nominated.

The Guidon-Moro Lorenzo and Ambrosio Padilla awards are a part of the Loyola Schools Awards for Leadership and Service.

(For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website).