NCAA welcomes EAC, Lyceum as regular members


Posted at May 20 2015 03:01 PM | Updated as of May 20 2015 11:01 PM

MANILA, Philippines – The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) will officially Emilio Aguinaldo College (EAC) and Lyceum of the Philippines University as its newest regular members when it kicks off its 91st season, which starts with much-awaited basketball tournament on June 27 at the Mall of Asia Arena.

NCAA Management Committee chairman Melchor Divina of hosts Mapua Institute of Technology said the league has upgraded the status of EAC and Lyceum this year after meeting all the requirements for complete regular status.

"EAC and Lyceum are now regular members of the NCAA starting this season," Divina announced.

EAC and Lyceum join Arellano University, which was also accepted last year as a regular, as the newest members of the 10-school league that also includes Mapua, San Beda College, Jose Rizal University (JRU), University of Perpetual Help System, Letran College, College of St. Benilde (CSB), and San Sebastian College.

Season 91 of the NCAA opens with five-peat champion San Beda clashing with hosts Mapua at 2 p.m., and last season's second placer Arellano battling last season's third-placer JRU in the main game at 4 p.m.

The pair of explosive games will be preceded by what organizers say will be a performance to remember, centered on the new theme for Season 91: "NCAA: Engineered for Sports Excellence in the New Decade."

All games will be shown live on ABS-CBN Sports + Action as part of the 10-year contract that it signed with the league.

Games have been moved from its previous schedule of Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays, and Saturdays to Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays, with a total of seven seniors games to be played every week.

San Beda, the reigning seniors basketball champion, is out to extend its reign to six seasons, while CSB will try to defend the general championship after emerging as the overall champion last season.