Putin signs bills to annex four regions of Ukraine

Agence France-Presse

Posted at Oct 05 2022 04:34 PM

A Ukrainian soldier sets up a National flag on the stele reading 'Donetsk Oblast' on a symbolic border between the Kharkiv and Donetsk areas, Ukraine, Sept. 20, 2022 amid Russia's military invasion. Yevgen Honcharenko, EPA-EFE

MOSCOW — Russian President Vladimir Putin on Wednesday signed legislation to annex 4 territories of Ukraine, government documents showed. 

The Donetsk, Lugansk, Kherson and Zaporizhzhia regions are "accepted into the Russian Federation in accordance with the constitution of the Russian Federation", the documents said.

Putin also signed decrees formally appointing the current Moscow-backed heads of the 4 regions as their acting leaders. 

Earlier, the annexation legislation was unanimously supported by both Russia's lower and upper chambers of parliament.

Putin last Friday presided over a grand ceremony at the Kremlin during which he signed agreements with the Moscow-installed leaders of the 4 regions to become subjects of the Russian Federation, despite condemnation from Kyiv and its allies in the West.

The 4 territories create a crucial land corridor between Russia and the Crimean Peninsula, which was annexed by Moscow in 2014.

Together, the 5 regions make up around 20 percent of Ukraine.

But Russian forces do not have complete control over Kherson or Zaporizhzhia and the Kremlin has not yet confirmed what areas of those regions are being annexed.

© Agence France-Presse

Watch more News on iWantTFC