'TV Patrol' bags Program of the Year award at 2019 ComGuild Media Awards


Posted at Sep 29 2019 06:32 PM

MANILA - ABS-CBN received a total of 14 awards at the 2019 ComGuild Media Awards Sunday.

ABS-CBN's flagship news program "TV Patrol" bagged the Program of the Year award, leading the winners from ABS-CBN Integrated News and Current Affairs.

"Dos for Dos" bagged the Best AM Radio Program award, while "Matanglawin" was named Best Educational Program.

"Umagang Kay Ganda" was also named Best Morning Show.

The network's broadcast journalists also received recognition from ComGuild. Radio and TV anchor Julius Babao was named Most Popular Television Personality of the Year, while Anthony Taberna bagged the Best AM Radio Anchor award.

Dyan Castillejo was named Best Lifestyle Program Host for "Sports U," Karen Davila bagged the Best Magazine Show Host award for "My Puhunan" and Kim Atienza won the Best Educational Program Host award for "Matanglawin."

Jeff Canoy was also named the Best Male Field Reported of the Year, while Alvin Elchico and Bernadette Sembrano was named Most Outstanding Male News Presenter of the Year and Most Outstanding Female News Presenter of the Year, respectively. 

"The Bottomline" bagged the Best Entertainment News Show award, while its host, Boy Abunda, was hailed Best Entertainment News Show host.

The ComGuild Media Awards is an annual event that recognizes TV and radio news personalities and programs for their body of work voted upon by students of 70 member schools.