Duterte signs law dividing Cavite into 8 legislative districts

Dharel Placido, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Sep 17 2018 01:45 PM | Updated as of Sep 17 2018 07:29 PM

MANILA - President Rodrigo Duterte has signed a law reapportioning Cavite into 8 legislative districts, ahead of the 2019 national and local elections.

According to Republic Act 11069, signed by Duterte on Sept. 14, the 8 legislative districts are as follows:

First District

  • Cavite City
  • Kawit
  • Noveleta
  • Rosario

Second District

  • Bacoor City

Third District

  • Imus City

Fourth Distric​t

  • ​Dasmariñas City

Fifth District

  • Carmona
  • General Mariano Alvarez
  • Silang

Sixth District

  • General Trias City

Seventh District

  • Trece Martires City
  • Indang
  • Tanza
  • Amadeo

Eighth District

  • Tagaytay City
  • Alfonso
  • General Aguinaldo
  • Magallanes
  • Maragondon
  • Mendez
  • Naic
  • Ternate

The law, which repeals RA 9727 signed by former president Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, makes General Trias City into a legislative district on its own. The composition of the first five districts, meanwhile, were left untouched.

The law states that the incumbent representatives of the 6th and 7th legislative districts shall continue to represent their districts until new representatives are elected.