House creates 3 new committees


Posted at Sep 11 2018 08:08 AM

MANILA - The House of Representatives has created 3 new committees as part of the reorganization under the new leadership.

House Majority Leader Rolando Andaya Jr. announced the creation of the committees on disaster management, oversight and senior citizens.

The 25-member disaster management panel will be mandated with all matters relating to natural and manmade calamities, including risk reduction, disaster preparedness, and recovery, rehabilitation and reconstruction efforts, said Andaya. 

Bataan Rep. Geraldine Roman was elected committee chair with Representatives Leopoldo Bataoil, Cheryl Deloso Montalla and Jonathan Sy-Alvarado as the initial members.

The special committee for senior citizens meanwhile will handle the policies for the elderly, which aim to "enhance their active participation in society," said Andaya. 

Ilocos Norte Rep. Imelda Marcos will chair the committee, with Representatives Milagros Aquino Magsaysay and Francisco Datol in the initial list of 20 members. 

Lastly, the oversight committee will handle "all matters relating to the coordination of executive development planning and congressional action specifically the review of the effectiveness of laws pursued through the legislative executive development advisory council," said Andaya. 

No member and chair has been elected yet for this 25-member committee. House Minority Leader Danilo Suarez previously expressed preference for this panel. 

Report from RG Cruz, ABS-CBN News