It's official: Antipolo is Rizal provincial capital, not Pasig

Arianne Merez, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Jun 22 2020 03:20 PM

MANILA-- President Rodrigo Duterte has signed into law a bill, officially transferring the capital and seat of government of Rizal province to Antipolo City from Pasig City.

Republic Act No. 11475 mandates that the present provincial capitol in Antipolo City be deemed as the provincial government center of Rizal where all provincial offices will be established.

The measure was signed by Duterte last June 19 but made public only Monday.

Even after Pasig City became part of Metro Manila over 40 years ago, it continued to be recognized as the official capital and seat of government of Rizal province.

It was only in 2009 that a new capitol was opened in Antipolo, long after Pasig ceased to being part of Rizal. Both cities lie east of Metro Manila, a mega city of some 10 million people that accounts for a third of the economy.