House releases new vote results on anti-terror bill after clarifications

RG Cruz, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Jun 04 2020 10:53 PM

MANILA - The House of Representatives on Thursday corrected the votes cast for the controversial House Bill 6875, which seeks to amend the country's current anti-terrorism law.

During the lower chamber's plenary session, Deputy Speaker Aurelio Dong Gonzales announced that the House approved on third and final the Anti-Terrorism Act of 2020 with 168 affirmative votes, 36 negative votes, and 29 abstentions.

The initial result released Wednesday was 173-31-29.

The breakdown of how lawmakers voted is not yet available, as of posting.

Meanwhile, another lawmaker clarified that she wasn't a co-author of House Bill 6875.

Binan City, Laguna Rep. Len Alonte Naguiat said it was the secretariat of the House Committee on Public Order and Safety that erroneously listed her as co-author of the bill.

“I didn't withdraw as co-author in the Anti-Terrorism Bill because I never signified my intention to be included as one. It was a huge mistake of the committee secretariat of public order,” Alonte told ABS-CBN News in a text message.

Earlier, Antique Rep. Loren Legarda said she wasn't a co-author of the legislation after reports claimed she was.

"In fact, I voted no to the measure," she tweeted Wednesday.

If the anti-terrorism bill becomes a law, the government will be authorized to wiretap suspects, arrest them without warrant, and hold them without charge for 14 days, among other provisions. 

Critics and activists have expressed alarm over the bill, which many believe could be used to suppress free speech and harass those who go against President Rodrigo Duterte.