Cebu City, Mandaue City also shifting to general quarantine on June 1 - Palace

Davinci Maru, ABS-CBN News

Posted at May 30 2020 11:54 AM

MANILA – The country's two last cities under the strictest coronavirus restriction – Cebu City and Mandaue City in Central Visayas – will shift to a looser quarantine along with the rest of the region on June 1, a Palace official said Saturday.

The government's task force spearheading response to the COVID-19 crisis agreed to place both cities under general community quarantine (GQC) starting Monday following a meeting on Friday, presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said during a Laging Handa press briefing.

The two cities have been under enhanced community quarantine due to coronavirus cases in the area. 

Other areas that will transition to GCQ from June 1 to June 15 are Metro Manila, Cagayan Valley, Central Luzon, Calabarzon, the rest of Central Visayas, Pangasinan province, Davao City and Zamboanga City.

Meanwhile, the rest of the country will shift to a modified GCQ, which is one step closer to the "new normal" or the full lifting of community quarantine protocols.

Roque defines GCQ as “temporary measures limiting movement and transportation, regulation of operating industries, and presence of uniformed personnel to enforce community quarantine protocols.

Meanwhile, MGCQ is the transition phase between GCQ and the new normal in which “temporary measures are relaxed and become less necessary.”

Before the shift, Luzon was under strict lockdown for two months. 

To date, the Philippines has tallied 16,634 coronavirus infections, of whom 942 died while 3,720 recovered.