PH revises coverage of enhanced community quarantine until May 15

Arianne Merez, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Apr 28 2020 12:33 PM | Updated as of Apr 28 2020 01:40 PM

Entrance to small streets are barricaded with “lockdown” signs in Mandaluyong on April 17, 2020. George Calvelo, ABS-CBN News

MANILA (UPDATE) - Malacañang announced Tuesday the revised coverage of the enhanced community quarantine until May 15.

As of Tuesday, Presidential Spokesman Harry Roque said only the following areas will remain under ECQ:

  1. Metro Manila
  2. Central Luzon, except the province of Aurora
  3. Southern Tagalog Region (Calabarzon)
  4. Pangasinan province
  5. Benguet province
  6. Baguio City
  7. Iloilo province
  8. Cebu province
  9. Cebu City
  10. Davao City

The updated list excluded Antique, Aklan, Capiz, Davao del Norte, and Davao de Oro. 

This means that the said provinces along with other areas not on the list will be under general community quarantine (GQC) or the "new normal" where “minimum health standards" should still be observed, Roque said.

With the extension of the ECQ, access to basic goods will remain limited as people should still stay home to contain the spread of COVID-19.

The Philippines as of Monday has a cumulative 7,777 confirmed cases of COVID-19, including 511 deaths and 932 recoveries.