Ynares takes Antipolo City


Posted at May 15 2013 01:16 AM | Updated as of May 15 2013 01:45 PM

MANILA, Philippines (UPDATED) - Rizal Governor Casimiro "Jun" Ynares III has won as mayor of Antipolo City.

Ynares, a Nationalist People's Coalition (NPC) stalwart who is on his third and last term as governor, was officially proclaimed by the Commission on Elections (Comelec) at the Ynares Center on Tuesday.

Based on official results from the Comelec, Ynares garnered 128,108 votes while his closest rival, incumbent city mayor Danilo Leyble of the Liberal Party, got 121,032 votes.

Another mayoral candidate, Jose Velasco, only got 1,366 votes.

The board of canvassers decided not to include 4 CF cards when the tally reached 99.128% of canvassing, saying it would have been moot since the CF cards only contain 3,500 votes that could not possibly affect the outcome.

In an interview with the media, Ynares said he feels very happy about his victory.

He also congratulated his rival Leyble, saying he is also qualified to run Antipolo. He said he is ready for a reconciliation.

Ynares now plans to celebrate with his kids as he had little time with them during the campaign period.

Meanwhile, the winning vice mayoral candidate Ronaldo Leyva was a no-show during the proclamation.

Leyva has 143,775 votes, a landslide win versus rivals Susana Say with 90,844 votes and Danilo Quizon with 3,953 votes.

Romeo Acop was proclaimed winner for the congressional seat for the 2nd district of Antipolo, with 74,109 votes, beating rivals Lorenzo Juan Sumulong III with 44,612 votes and Silverio Bulanon with 1,217 votes.

Roberto Puno was also proclaimed winner for the 1st district congressional seat with 86,705 votes, beating rivals Francisco Sumulong with 20,391 votes, Dioscoro Esteban with 3,369 votes, Florante Quizon with 1,608 votes and Salvador Abaño with 851 votes.

Ynares' mother, Nini Ynares, was also leading the race for Rizal governor, as of posting.

With 70.90% of election returns processed of of 4:34 a.m. Wednesday, the older Ynares had 438,559 votes.

Second-placed independent candidate Steve Salonga, son of former Senator Jovito Salonga, had 117,931 votes while Anamariela Bush had 7,254. -- Report from Jasmin Romero, ABS-CBN News