2014 is Iglesia ni Cristo centennial year

By RG Cruz, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Jul 04 2014 11:49 AM | Updated as of Jul 04 2014 07:49 PM

MANILA - Malacañang has declared this year as the Iglesia ni Cristo Centennial Year.

Communications Secretary Sonny Coloma said in a note that the Office of the President on July 2 issued Proclamation No. 815 "Declaring Year 2014 as Iglesia ni Cristo Centennial Year."

The influential religious bloc will be celebrating its centennial on July 27. It is the largest home-grown Christian church in the Philippines, with ministries in at least 102 countries.

Palace said Proclamation No. 815 was issued to enhance public awareness on the contributions of the Iglesia ni Cristo to national development.

The proclamation directed the Postmaster General to cause the design, printing and issuance of a special postage stamp to commemorate the said event.

The Office of the President on July 3 also issued Memorandum Circular No. 66, directing the creation of "Task Force Sentenaryo" for the Iglesia ni Cristo centennial celebration.

"Considering the large number of Filipinos from here and abroad who will participate in the said event, to be held on 27 July 2014 at the Philippine Arena in Bocaue, Bulacan, 'Task Force Sentenaryo' will be in charge of all actions and responses in connection with the said event. It may call upon any department, bureau, agency or instrumentality of the government, local government units, NGOs, and the private sector for assistance."

Task Force Sentenaryo will be headed by Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) chairman Francis Tolentino, with the following as members:

Secretary of Defense Voltaire Gazmin; Secretary of Interior and Local Government Manuel Roxas II; Secretary of Public Works Rogelio Singson; Secretary of Health Enrique Ona; Secretary Sonny Coloma of the Presidential Communications Operations Office; General Emmanuel Bautista, Armed Forces Chief of Staff; Police Director General Alan Purisima, Chief of the Philippine National Police; Atty. Winston Ginez, Chairman of the Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board; Atty. Juan Sta. Ana, General Manager of the Philippine Ports Authority; retired General Jose Angel Honrado, General Manager of the Manila International Airport Authority; Mr. Edmundo Reyes, Executive Director of the Toll Regulatory Board; and, a representative from the Iglesia ni Cristo.