UP Fighting Maroons jacket fetches P60,000 at auction

Leah C. Salterio

Posted at Nov 10 2019 02:21 PM

This UP Fighting Maroons jacket was signed by the members of the UP men's basketball team. Ivy Lisa Mendoza

MANILA -- Ahead of the much-awaited UAAP semi-finals clash between the University of the Philippines (UP) and the University of Sto. Tomas (UST), a UP Fighting Maroons jacket was auctioned and was sold for a whopping P60,000. 

The hoodie jacket, which had the signatures of all players of the team in silver fabric marker, went up for bidding at the well-attended alumni homecoming of the UP College of Mass Communication (CMC) to raise funds for the scholarship of the UPCMC Alumni Association.

The bid, which started at P5,000, kicked off the program held at the UP Film Studio, donated by former Senator Loren Legarda, a graduate of UP CMC. The program was hosted by former radio DJ Hill Billy Willy (Willy Inong) and Beng Achacoso.

Throughout the program, the hosts regularly updated the attendees about the bid. Most guests thought the bidding would stop when the amount reached P50,000. However, later on in the program, the amount reached P55,000 and the last bid was at P60,000.

The jacket was brought home by Janine Rubin from Batch 1989, who graduated from the college in 1993. She said she really wanted to bring home the jacket and help the alumni association. 

The winning bidder Janine Rubin wearing her prized acquisition. Ivy Lisa Mendoza

She denied that the jacket will be sold on eBay if ever the UP Fighting Maroons team wins the UAAP championship this year.

All the signatures of the UP Fighting Maroons players, including Kobe Paras and Ricci Rivero, were gathered by Tessa Jazmines, a professor at the UP CMC.

Ogie Alcasid, a successful graduate of the college, was one of those who gamely made a bid for the jacket at P25,000. He performed in the homecoming event and even taught the attendees an exciting cheer for the UAAP game. The “Go UP, Fight UP” cheer was composed by National Artist Ryan Cayabyab, a graduate of the UP College of Music.

Five successful graduates of the UP CMC were honored this year and became recipients of the third Glory Awards. The were Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature winner Floy Quintos, film director Jeffrey Jeturian, advocate for peace Samira Gutoc-Tomawid, journalist Carolyn Arguillas and Nona Andaya-Castillo, who championed breastfeeding as well as the welfare of Filipino mothers and children.

Glory Awardees (from left) Floy Quintos, Carolyn Arguillas, Nona Andaya-Castillo, Jeffrey Jeturian and Samira Gutoc-Tomawis. Ivy Lisa Mendoza

The Glory Awards was named after the first dean of the UP CMC, Gloria Feliciano.