Palace names new national artists


Posted at Oct 23 2018 05:58 PM | Updated as of Oct 23 2018 06:21 PM

MANILA - Malacañang on Tuesday announced the names of who will receive the National Artist awards in Malacañang.

Leading the pack is Francisco Mañosa, who was initially proclaimed National Artist in 2009 by then President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo. The award was eventually withdrawn by the Supreme Court because it was given illegally.

Mañosa is known as the architect behind the Coconut Palace, the Edsa Shrine, and the world-renowned Amanpulo and Pearl Farm resorts, among others. And now, he finally gets his due.

Also named National Artist is Kidlat Tahimik, who is dubbed as the “Father of Filipino Independent Cinema.” Some of his notable films include “Perfumed Nightmare” and “Balikbayan #1: Memories of Overdevelopment Redux III.” 

Ramon Muzones and Resil Mojares were both proclaimed National Artists for literature. Both are known for their literary works on history and society, having received several awards.

The National Artist for visual arts award was posthumously conferred on renowned illustrator Larry Alcala, known to many for his cartoon series “Slice of Life.”

Amelia Lapeña Bonifacio, dubbed as the “Grand Dame of Southeast Asian Children’s Theater,” was proclaimed National Artist for Theater.

Rounding out the list is Ryan Cayabyab, who has earned multiple accolades as a composer, musical director, and conductor. 

They will be named National Artists in a ceremony to be held at the Palace on Wednesday.

Meanwhile, weavers Estelita Bantilan of Sarangani, Ambalang Ausalin of Basilan and Yabing Dulo of South Cotabato will be given the Gawad sa Manlilikha ng Bayan award.

Actress Nora Aunor was nominated for the national artist award for film but was not among those who will receive the award.

The National Artist Award is the highest national recognition given to individuals who have made significant contributions to the development of Philippine arts. 

The award is jointly administered by the Cultural Center of the Philippines and the National Commission for Culture and the Arts and is conferred by the President upon recommendation by both institutions.

Members of the Order of National Artist are given stipends and other benefits, including grants for artistic projects. -report from Dharel Placido, ABS-CBN News