Where to next? PH has 4 new tourist spots

Arianne Merez, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Aug 29 2019 03:34 PM

Pinsal Falls in Santa Maria, Ilocos Sur. File

MANILA - Looking for your next vacation spot? There are four new destinations you may choose from. 

President Rodrigo Duterte signed on August 22 new laws declaring the following as new tourist destinations: 

  •  Mount Bulaylay in Cuyapo, Nueva Ecija
  •  Candon City Ecotourism Zone in Ilocos Sur
  •  Santiago Cove in Santiago, Ilocos Sur
  •  Pinsal Falls in Santa Maria, Ilocos Sur

Four newly signed republic acts, RA 11406, RA 11407, RA 11408, and RA 11409, state that these areas shall be subject to rules and regulations covering the development of tourist destinations.

Under the new laws, the Department of Tourism, in coordination with the Department of Public Works and Highways, should prepare a tourism development plan to make the sites more accessible to tourists.

The development plans should include the construction and maintenance of appropriate facilities and infrastructure that would improve the overall feature of the area, the laws stated.

The plans should also preserve and conserve the historic significance of the tourist spots.

The tourism secretary is mandated under the new laws to include development plans for the new tourist destinations in the National Tourism Development Plan.

The Philippines in 2018 recorded an all-time high in tourist arrivals at 7.1 million.