Officially winners: Comelec proclaims 12 elected Senators


Officially winners: Comelec proclaims 12 elected Senators 1

MANILA (UPDATED) - Old names, neophytes, and celebrities have completed the winning circle of the 2016 Senatorial elections.

Of the 12 winning senators, only two are female.

Here is the list of the top 12 senatorial candidates based on the final tally of votes of the Comelec.

1. Franklin Drilon

Topping the Senate winners is Franklin Drilon, a stalwart of the ruling Liberal Party (LP).

The reelectionist senator from Molo, Iloilo served as secretary of the Department of Labor and Employment from 1987-1990; secretary of the Department of Justice from 1990-1991 and 1992-1995; and executive secretary of the Office of the President from 1991-1992.

Drilon, the Senate President of the 16th Congress, led the race with 18,607,391 votes.

2. Joel Villanueva

The former head of the Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA) is a surprise topnotcher, placing second with 18,459,222 votes.

The LP bet attributes his victory to his authentic messaging and his accomplishments at TESDA.

Villanueva led the Senate rankings when the vote counts started but has since been overtaken by Drilon.

Villanueva is the son of Jesus Is Lord Movement leader Bro. Eddie Villanueva who ran for president in 2004 and 2010.

3. Vicente Sotto III

Vicente Sotto III ran under the banner of the Nationalist People's Coalition (NPC). He is currently the Senate's Deputy Minority Leader.

The celebrity-turned-senator got 17,200,371 votes.

He started his career as a senator, serving two terms in 1992 to 2004 and was reelected to the Senate in 2010.

4. Panfilo Lacson

Former senator and independent candidate Panfilo Lacson returns to the Senate after getting 16,926,152 votes.

Lacson, who rose to fame as chief of the Philippine National Police, was recently appointed Yolanda rehabilitation czar. He ran but lost in 2004 presidential polls.

5. Richard Gordon

The chairman of the Philippine National Red Cross is at 5th spot with 16,719,322 votes.

The former Olongapo City mayor was elected as senator 2004. He ran but lost in his bid for the highest office in the land in 2010.

He ran as an independent candidate for the 2016 elections.

6. Miguel Zubiri

Another independent candidate, Miguel Zubiri trails Gordon at the 6th spot with 16,119,165 votes.

Zubiri became the youngest senator to be elected as Senate Majority leader before resigning in 2011 amid accusations of poll fraud. He also served the 3rd District of Bukidnon from 1998 to 2007.

7. Manny Pacquiao

Boxing icon and Congressman Manny Pacquiao is assured of a seat in the Upper House.

At 7th place, the retired boxer garnered 16,050,546 votes in the recently concluded elections.

Prior to his Senate bid, the United Nationalist Alliance (UNA) bet served two terms as the representative of Sarangani.

8. Francis Pangilinan

Liberal Party bet Francis Pangilinan landed on the 8th spot with 15,955,949 votes.

Prior to his Senate bid, the former senator also served as Presidential Assistant on Food Security and Agricultural Modernization under the Office of the President.

He was first elected as senator in 2001 to 2013.

9. Risa Hontiveros

Third time's the charm for former Akbayan Representative Risa Hontiveros, who finally wins a Senate spot with 15,915,213 votes.

In 2010, she ran under the ticket of President Benigno Aquino III but lost. She tried but failed again to make it to the same post in the midterm polls in 2013.

Last year, Hontiveros was appointed as one of the directors of the Philippine Health Insurance.

10. Sherwin Gatchalian

Valenzuela Representative Sherwin Gatchalian's Senate bid proved successful after securing the 10th spot with 14,953,768 votes in the recent elections.

He ran under the NPC.

11. Ralph Recto

LP candidate Ralph Recto is at 11th place with 14,271,868 votes.

The former senator was elected in the Senate in 2001 and was reelected in 2010.

He is currently the 16th Congress' Senate President Pro-Tempore.

12. Leila de Lima

The second woman to be included in the line-up of winning senatorial bets is Leila de Lima.

The former justice secretary ran under the LP and landed on the 12th spot.

De Lima secures her Senate seat with 14,144,070 votes.

Comelec Chairman Andres Bautista, in his opening remarks, said the poll body, which sits as the National Board of Canvassers (NBOC), proceeded with the proclamation of the senatorial winners Thursday even as they have yet to receive 1,211 votes.

Bautista noted that the difference between the number of votes garnered by the 12th and 13th senatorial candidates is 1,332,972. This means that the remaining votes will no longer affect the election results.

Independent bet Francis Tolentino, who is on 13th place, had asked the Supreme Court to stop the poll body from proclaiming the winners in the 10th to 12th senatorial slots.

Tolentino believes the results were compromised after technology provider Smartmatic changed the script of the Comelec transparency server on election day.

READ: Tolentino fails to secure SC TRO vs proclamation of 12 winning senators


Meanwhile, Bautista trumpeted the achievements of the Comelec in holding the country's third automated elections.

Bautista cited the success of the PiliPinas Debates -- three presidential debates and one vice presidential -- which helped Filipino voters learn more about candidates' platforms.

He also cited this election's fast transmission rate of votes, claiming that 60% of the votes were already transmitted by 8 p.m. on May 9.

This year also saw the highest turnout of overseas Filipino voters, he added.

"The fast transmission rate, high voter turnout, swift counting and canvassing are concrete affirmations that the commission outperformed this year, notwithstanding the challenges we encountered, including complying with the Supreme Court directive of printing voting receipts less than two months before the May elections," said Bautista.

The NBOC will proclaim the winning party-list representatives at 6 p.m.