'Baler' big winner in MMFF awards night


Posted at Dec 27 2008 11:48 PM | Updated as of Dec 28 2008 08:47 AM

The historical film "Baler" took home ten awards at the 34th Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) awards night Saturday evening.

The Viva Films entry, which depicts a love story set amid the Siege of Baler in 1898, won Best Festival Picture, Best Director for Mark Meily, Best Actress for Anne Curtis, Best Supporting Actor for Philip Salvador, Best Screenplay, and the Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award.

It also won Best Screenplay for Roy Iglesias, Best Cinematography for Lee Meily, Best Production Design for Aped Santos, and Best Editing for Danny Anonuevo.

The animated film "Dayo: Sa Mundo ng Elementalia," meanwhile, won four awards: Best Visual Effects for Robert Quilao, Best Busical Score for Jessie Lasaten, Best Theme Song for "Lipad" (by Jessie Lasaten and Artemio Abad Jr., performed by Lea Salonga), and Best Sound for Albert Idioma and Wally Dellosa.

The Best Supporting Actress plum went to Manilyn Reynes of the sexy comedy "One Night Only", while Christopher de Leon of the drama "Magkaibigan" won Best Actor.

Top grossers "Ang Tanging Ina Ninyong Lahat," which stars commedienne Ai-Ai delas Alas, was declared the 2nd Best Festival Picture, while the film revival of the hit comedy "Iskul Bukol: 20 Years After," which stars the comedy trio of Tito, Vic and Joey, was declared the 3rd Best Festival Picture.

Meanwhile, Jose Javier Reyes won Best Original Story for "One Night Only"; Robert Villar won Best Child Performer ("Shake, Rattle, and Roll X"); and Noli Villalobos for Best Make-Up ("Desperadas 2").

Celebrities from both showbiz and politics attended the awards night, held at the Sofitel Hotel in Manila.

The awards night also featured the musical "Katy: The Musical," which starred KC Concepcion and "Baler" star Jericho Rosales. -- With a report from Gretchen Fullido, ABS-CBN News