'John Denver Trending' tops Cinemalaya awards


Posted at Aug 11 2019 09:43 PM

MANILA -- "John Denver Trending" took home the bulk of trophies at the awards night for the 2019 Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival held at the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) Sunday.

Directed by Arden Rod Condez, "John Denver Trending" was named Best Film and also took home the awards for Best Editing, Best Cinematography, Best Original Music Score and Best Actor for Jansen Magpusao, who played the title role.

The film was also received the NETPAC Jury Prize.

Ruby Ruiz, meanwhile, was named best actress for her role as a loving but impoverished grandmother of an autistic child in "Iska." 

Veteran actor Ricky Davao won the best supporting actor award for "F#*@bois" while Ella Cruz was named best supporting actress for her role in "Edward."

Here is the complete list of winners:

Audience Choice Award (Short Feature): Heist School by Julius Renomeron Jr.
Audience Choice Award (Full-length): Belle Douleur by Joji V. Alonso
Best Screenplay (Short Feature): Gilb Baldoza (Kontrolado ni Girly ang Buhay Niya)
Best Director (Short Feature): Don Senoc (Sa Among Agwat)
Best Film (Short Feature): 'Wag Mo 'Kong Kausapin
Best Sound (Full-length): Immanuel Verona (Iska)
Best Original Music Score (Full-length): Len Calvo (John Denver Trending)
Best Production Design (Full-length): Alvin Francisco (Edward)
Best Editing (Full-length): Benjo Ferrer III (John Denver Trending)
Best Cinematography (Full-length): Rommel Sales (John Denver Trending)
Best Screenplay (Full-length): Mary Rose Colindres (Iska)
Best Supporting Actor (Full-length): Ricky Davao (F#*@bois)
Best Supporting Actress (Full-length): Ella Cruz (Edward)
Best Actor (Full-length): Jansen Magpusao (John Denver Trending)
Best Actress (Full-length): Ruby Ruiz (Iska)
Best Director (Full-length): Eduardo Roy Jr. (F#*@bois)
Best Film (Full-length): John Denver Trending
NETPAC Jury Award (Short Feature): Disconnection Notice (Glenn Lowell Averia)
NETPAC Jury Award (Full-length): John Denver Trending (Arden Rod Condez)
Special Mention Citation for an Outstanding Short Film: Sa Among Agwat (Don Senoc)
Special Jury Award (Short Feature): Tembong (Shaira Advincula)
Special Jury Award (Full-length): Edward (Thop Nazareno)
Shorts Special Mention for Subject Matter: Norvin de los Santos (Hele ng Maharlika)