Nora, Eula win best actress in Cinemalaya X

by Patrick Quintos,

Posted at Aug 10 2014 11:38 PM | Updated as of Aug 11 2014 07:45 PM

Nora, Eula win best actress in Cinemalaya X 1
Nora Aunor bags the Best Actress award for her role in "Hustisya" in the Directors Showcase category of this year's Cinemalaya Film Festival. Photo by Kiko Cabuena

Veterans Robert Arevalo, Dante Rivero take best actor awards

MANILA - Cinemalaya named the winners of this year's independent film festival in the awards night held at the Cultural Center of the Philippines( CCP) on Sunday night.

''Kasal'' and ''Bwaya'' were named best films for the Director's Showcase and New Breed categories, respectively.

''Superstar'' Nora Aunor bagged the best actress award for the film ''Hustisya,'' while veteran actor Robert Arevalo won the best actor award, both in the Director's Showcase category.

Meanwhile, Eula Valdez was named best actress for ''Dagitab,'' and Dante Rivero won the best actor award for "1st ko si 3rd" in the New Breed category.

Michael Tuviera (The Janitor) and Giancarlo Abrahan V (Dagitab) were named best directors and best screenwriters for the Director's Showcase and New Breed categories, respectively.

Here's the complete list of winners of Cinemalaya X:

Director's Showcase

Best Film - Kasal
Best Direction - The Janitor (Michael Tuviera)
Best Actor - Robert Arevalo (Hari ng Tondo)
Best Actress Nora Aunor (Hustisya)
Best Supporting Actor - Nicco Manalo (The Janitor)
Best Supporting Actress - Cris Villonco (Hari ng Tondo)
Best Screenplay - The Janitor
Best Editing - The Janitor
Best Cinematography - Kasal
Best Musical Score - Kasal
Best Prod Design - Kasal
Best Sound - The Janitor
Audience Choice - Hustisya
NETPAC Award - Hustisya
Special Citation for Poster - Asintado

New Breed

Best Film - Bwaya
Special Jury - K'Na The Dreamweaver
Best Direction - Dagitab (Giancarlo Abrahan V)
Best Actor - Dante Rivero (1st Ko Si 3rd)
Best Actress - Eula Valdez (Dagitab)
Special Citation (Ensemble Acting) - Elmo Magalona, Kit Thompson, Sophie Albert, Coleen Garcia (#Y)
Best Supporting Actor - Miggs Cuaderno (Children's Show)
Best Supporting Actress - Barbie Forteza (Mariquina)
Best Screenplay - Dagitab
Best Editing - Children's Show
Best Cinematography - Bwaya
Best Sound - Children's Show
Best Musical Score - Bwaya
Best Prod Design - K'Na The Dreamweaver
Audience choice - Sundalong Kanin
NETPAC Award - Bwaya
Canon Cinematography Award - Children's Show


Audience Choice - Lola
Best Screenplay - Lola
Best Direction - Lola
Best Short Film - Asan si Lolo Me
Special Jury - The Ordinary Things We Do