Gawad Tanglaw a paradigm of anti-climax

by Boy Villasanta,

Posted at Mar 04 2010 05:57 PM | Updated as of Mar 05 2010 02:00 AM

MANILA, Philippines - As talent manager and publicist Chris Cahilig would also aptly put it, the Gawad Tanglaw or Gawad Tagapuring mga Akademisyan ng Aninong Gumagalaw awards rites night at the Jose Rizal University on Shaw Boulevard Wednesday night was anti-climactic.

Reshuffling the order of awarding, and other numbers in between had made the proceedings not less contrived, losing the magic, if not completely the honor, of award-giving.

Originally, recognizing winners for television, radio, creative communication and theater arts, in their respective succession coming up the stage, would come first while the special citations would collectively come next and the most awaited section, the film arts would come on the last part being the height of the celebration.

But since it naturally happens in live shows or even on taped ones, the shuffling up becomes a kind of deus ex machina to cover up some weaknesses in the production's decision-making.

It was awesome, though, before the show started at around 6 o'clock against its 5 o'clock invitation, the whole campus was agog with delightful starstruck anticipation as per advance announcement big stars would grace the event.

Suddenly, the arrival of celebrities in piecemeal, either from the auditorium or the parking lot, where the stars met up, to the school grounds, where the awards night would be held, sent all the more frenzy and the proverbial pandemonium broke loose.

Surely, it was fun and breathtaking, nonetheless.

However, it was just the same, a sort of an investiture, so common in the academe which would require a semblance of order.

On another note, the night was a recognition of talents in various fields of the media arts and their contributions to the advancement and quality life of their audience need to be underscored by this awarding.

Sadly, it just only turned out to be a fans day.

As it was, the excitement and the hysteria were easily gone too soon right after the film arts awards were given to Star Cinema's “In My Life,” Best Film; Olivia Lamasan, Best Director, which she shares with her fellow filmmakers Joel Lamangan and Brillante Mendoza; Vilma Santos, Best Actress; John Lloyd Cruz, Best Actor, and Luis Manzano, Best Supporting Actor, all from the same film;

Allen Dizon, Best Actor for ATD Entertainment's “Dukot;” Roderick Paulate, Best Supporting Actor for APT Entertainment's “Ded na si Lolo;” and Maria Isabel Lopez, Best Supporting Actress for two films, Exogain Productions' “Tulak” and Centerstage Productions and Swift Production's “Kinatay (The Execution of P).”

By handing out the awards to the bests in radio, both AM and FM, and the personal dishing out of voice trademarks of the wacky Love Radio team Nicole Heyala-Christsuper and Mr. FU, all of them winners, the energy of the audience was restored.

Hunk Zanjoe Marudo's staying put while Coco Martin's better late than never appearance added enthusiasm to the crowd as well.

Trying to put more wonders to the night, the bests in TV were also comeuppance but as it went on, the audience had thinned out.

By the time the special awards were given, the students, or even teachers, most of them anyway, had somewhat took a recess, saved for the presence of “May Bukas Pa” child star Zaijan Jaranilla.

The special awards were Natatanging Gawad Tanglaw para sa Sining at Telebisyon for Zaijan Jaranilla; Gawad Tanglaw para sa Sining at Kultura for Rustica Carpio, Gawad Tanglaw ng Pelikulang Pilipino (posthumous for Rudy Fernandez); Presidential Jury Award for Excellence in Acting for Coco Martin; Presidential Jury Award for Film Excellence for Mike Sandejas' “Dinig Sana Kita;” and Lifetime Achievement Award for Mod Magazine and Lifetime Achievement Award posthumous for Inday Badiday.

2010 Gawad Tanglaw list of winners:

2009 Gawad TANGLAW
para sa Sining at Kultura


In My Life
Walang Hanggang Paalam


Ms. Vilma Santos – In My Life


Ms. Isabel Lopez – Kinatay
Ms. Isabel Lopez – Tulak


John Llyod Cruz – In My Life
Allen Dizon - Dukot


Luis Manzano – In My Life
Roderick Paulate – Dead na si Lolo

Dir. Dante Mendoza – Lola
Dir. Olivia Lamasan – In My Life
Dir. Joey Lamangan - Dukot


2. KINATAY – Armando Lao

3. Walang Hanggang Paalam


Walang Hanggang Paalam


Mangatyanan – Pats R. Ranyo


I Love You Goodbye – Lee Meily


Broadcast Network of the Year ABS-CBN 2

Best Drama Series Tayong Dalawa

Best News Program TV Patrol World

Best Documentary Feature Storyline (ANC)

Best Game Show Talentadong Pinoy (ABC 5)

Best Comedy / Gag Show Goin Bulilit, Banana Split

Best Variety Show ASAP ‘ 09

Best Magazine Show Rated K

Best Lifestyle Show Sweet Life (QTV 11)
Executive Class (ANC)

Best Travel Show Travel Time (ANC)

Best Sports Program Sports Unlimited

Best Sports Anchors Dyan Castillejo
Marc Nelson
Tommy Manotoc Jr.

Best News Anchor Ted Failon, Karen Davila,
Julius Babao, Vicky Morales

Best Entertainment Field Anchor Mario Dumaual
Phoemela Baranda

Special Jury Award for Television May Bukas Pa

Best Ensemble Performance in Coco Martin
a Television Drama Gerald Anderson
Kim Chu
Jake Cuenca
Agot Isdro
Cherry Pie Picache
Gina Pareño
Miguel Faustman
Jodi Sta Maria
Baron Geisler
Jiro Mañio
Ms. Anita Linda
Spanky Manikan
Ms. Helen Gamboa
Mylene Dizon
Alessandra de Rossi
Best Morning Show Umagang Kay Ganda

Best Morning Show Hosts Rica Paralejo
Pinky Webb
Donita Rose
Antony Taberna
Winnie Cordero
Edu Manzano
Bernadette Sembrano
Kim Atienza
Atom Araullo
Alex Santos
Ginger Conehero

Best Game show Hosts Richard Gomez

Best Public Service Program Wish Ko Lang
Salamat Dok!
Bantay OCW

Best Commentary Program KALYE (ABS-CBN 2)

Best Investigative Report Program XXX (ABS-CBN 2)

Best Educational Program Matanglawin
Spoon (Net 25)

Best Public Affairs Program Strictly Politics (ANC)

Best Drama Anthology Maalaala Mo Kaya
Best Christmas Station I.D STAR NG PASKO (abs-cbn 2)

Best T.V Ad Women Empowerment by MODESS
Lucky Me

Best Movie Theatre SHANGCINEFLEX

Best Development BOTO MO PATROL MO
Communication AKO ANG SIMULA

Best Reality Show I SURVIVE

Best Radio Stations DZMM
YES FM 101.1

Best AM Radio Anchors Ms. Korina Sanchez
Mr. Rey Langit
Mr. Anthony Taberna,

Best FM Radio Station YES FM 101.1
Best AM Radio Station DZMM

Best Radio DJ Mr. Fu
Nicoleyala, Christuper


Best Entertainment Columnist Ms. Dolly Anne Carvajal - Inquirer
Mr. Mario Bautista – People’s Journal
Mr. Ricky Lo – Philippine Star

Best Opinion Columnist Ms. Rina Jimenez-David

Best Newspaper Philippine Daily Inquirer

Best Fashion Magazine Garage



Zsa Zsa Zaturna ze muzikal
Directed by: Chris Millado