Military, religious groups feted for roles in 1986 EDSA Revolution


Posted at Feb 24 2017 06:04 PM

Military, religious groups feted for roles in 1986 EDSA Revolution 1

Stakeholders in the EDSA People Power Revolution, namely the Armed Forces, religious groups, and the Philippine citizenry, were recognized on Friday in a ceremony at the general headquarters grandstand of Camp Emilio Aguinaldo in Quezon City.

The Spirit of EDSA Foundation and EDSA People Power Commission honored the air force, military, navy, and police for “showcasing bravery and patriotism, and taking the difficult stance in joining the peaceful revolution” in 1986, which ended the regime of former President Ferdinand Marcos.

They also gave an award to the religious sector, recognizing the role of Roman Catholic, Muslim, and Christian leaders in “imbuing the spirit of non-violence in the protest movement against oppression.” The religious sector, the award-giving bodies said, also helped the people get the news they needed, despite a government-controlled media that restricted access to information.

The Filipino people were also lauded for their fearlessness in “calling on Marcos to leave Malacañang,” and enabling the people to “enjoy the blessings of democracy, which were theirs for a long time.”

The awards were given as part of the commemoration of the 31st anniversary of the EDSA People Power Revolution. President Rodrigo Duterte skipped the celebration to attend the relaunch of the Comprehensive Agreement on the Bangsamoro in Davao City.

Executive Secretary and EDSA People Power Commission co-chair Salvador Medialdea delivered a speech in his stead.

"The spirit of EDSA does not belong to one sector or one group of people, but to all Filipinos who believe in freedom and a democratic way of life . . .

“EDSA was not just a cry against years of abuse and corruption of governmental power. More importantly, it was a demonstration of the power that the united citizenry could muster,” he said.

The ceremony at Camp Aguinaldo was attended by EDSA luminaries such as former president Fidel V. Ramos, and former senators Juan Ponce Enrile and Gregorio Honasan.