'Happy Yipee Yehey' to air final episode on Feb.4


Posted at Jan 26 2012 07:54 PM | Updated as of Jan 27 2012 04:35 AM

MANILA, Philippines -- ABS-CBN's noontime variety show "Happy Yipee Yehey" (HYY) is soon going off the air.

According to an official statement from ABS-CBM, the noontime variety show will air its final episode on February 4 -- less than a year after it premiered -- at the AFP Theater.

"ABS-CBN is very grateful to the HYY hosts and production staff for their hard work and contribution in giving our noontime viewers a 'happy, yipee, yehey' experience for the past year," Bong Osorio, head of ABS-CBN Corporate Communications, said.

"We also extend our deepest gratitude to our viewers, here in the Philippines and in The Filipino Channel markets worldwide, for their support to the program," he added.

"Happy Yippee Yehey" is hosted by Randy Santiago, John Estrada, Rico J Puno, Pokwang and Toni Gonzaga.

According to ABS-CBN, the show's host will be given new projects "that kapamilyas will surely enjoy."

Despite being on the air for less than a year, "Happy Yipee Yehey" nonetheless made its mark on TV audiences. It was named best noontime show at the 2011 Ateneo de Manila University Dangal ng Bayan Awards and garnered nominations from the 25th PMPC Star Awards for TV and the 2011 Golden Screen Awards and was a 2011 Anak TV Seal awardee.

There was even "Happy Yipee Yehey! Nananana!: The Album," released by Star Records, which turned gold, boosted by hits like "Nananana" and "I Swing Mo."

Change of hosts

It was in January, 26 2011 when the existence of the show was revealed by Wilie Revillame, who, in a 10-minute rant, expressed his disappointment that his friends Santiago and Estrada accepted the project for ABS-CBN.

The show premiered on February 12, 2011 with a launch at the Ynares Sports Arena, with Santiago, Estrada, Gonzaga and Mariel Rodriguez. Also among its original hosts were Sam Milby, Melai Cantiveros and Jobert Austria.

Jason Francisco later joined the show to replace Austria.

Former "Pilipinas Win Na Win" hosts Pokwang and Rico J. Puno also later joined the noontime show, along with John Prats, Matteo Guidicelli, Bianca Manalo and Bentong.

The romance between Prats and Manalo also blossomed during the show.

Among its memorable games are "Susi ng Kapalaran," where contestants can win up to P1 million in the jackpot round, and "Tanging Hinga Mo," where players compete on who can sustain a note the longest in just one breathe.

There is also the beauty pageant-style "My Girl," whose finals will be held on February 4.


Earlier on Thursday, the hosts actually hinted that the noontime show was nearing its end.

"Rico, may nine days pa tayo. Huwag mong madaliin," Pokwang told Puno, who's known for his green jokes.

"Mga Kapamilya baka akala niyo ay temporary lang kami sa studio na ito kasi pagkatapos ay wala na," Estrada added, referring to the show's present venue at the Dolphy Theater.

"Pag-usapan natin sa February 5," Puno said.

"Wala ako sa February 5, nasa Baguio ako," Pokwang said.

With report from Mario Dumaual, ABS-CBN News