Duterte's PDP-Laban bets dominate gubernatorial posts

Dasha Marice Uy, ABS-CBN Investigative & Research Group

Posted at May 23 2019 05:35 AM | Updated as of May 23 2019 05:36 AM


Administration party candidates are set to occupy more than half of all gubernatorial seats, or 41 out of the 81 seats across the country, based on the Certificates of Canvass of the May 13, 2019 midterm elections from the Commission on Elections (Comelec).

Of the 56 candidates for governor fielded by PDP-Laban, only 14 lost.

Another administration party candidate, incumbent Ilocos Norte 1st District Representative Rudy Fariñas, withdrew his candidacy for governor less than two weeks before the elections.

Of the 41 winning PDP-Laban candidates in 2019, 19 were reelectionists who all ran under a different party in 2016.

In Mindanao, President Rodrigo Duterte’s bailiwick, 12 of 27 winning governors are affiliated with PDP-Laban, while two more ran under Presidential daughter Sara Duterte’s Hugpong ng Pagbabago (HNP).

Meanwhile, only two out of eight gubernatorial candidates affiliated with the opposition Liberal Party (LP) won their respective races.

They are reelected Batanes governor Marilou Cayco, who defeated NPC candidate Telesfores “Puro” Castillejos; and incumbent Dinagat Islands Lone District Representative Arlene “Kaka” Bag-ao, who defeated PDP-Laban’s Benglen Ecleo, the incumbent governor.

As the chief executive of the provincial government, the governor holds a wide range of powers and responsibilities.

He ensures that provincial development goals are aligned with national development priorities.

He is expected to direct the formulation of the provincial development plan and budget, and initiate the generation of resources and revenues to implement the programs, projects, and services related to the provincial development plan.

He also signs bonds, contracts, and obligations on behalf of the province, and issues, suspends, or revokes licenses or permits, among other powers and functions.

The results of the 2019 gubernatorial race are not far off from the picture that the 2016 elections painted, when 40 candidates for governor—almost half of all winning gubernatorial candidates—fielded by then-administration party LP won the elections.

No PDP-Laban bet won the 2016 gubernatorial race.

The infographic below shows the provinces where winning PDP-Laban gubernatorial bets are poised to take their seats on June 30. It also shows the areas where PDP-Laban bets lost, and the candidates who defeated them, as well as the areas where the administration party did not field any candidate.

The map also highlights provinces where HNP and LP gubernatorial bets won. – With additional research by Cassandra Buenafe and Adrian Paul Catalogo.