LIST: Get to know the graduating senators


Posted at May 21 2019 10:38 PM | Updated as of May 23 2019 12:28 PM

MANILA - Twelve senatorial aspirants are set to be proclaimed Wednesday to replace senators who have reached the end of their 6-year term.

Among those who will be graduating are the following:

LIST: Get to know the graduating senators 1


Opposition Sen. Antonio Trillanes IV, who was reelected for a second term in 2013, worked on 86 national bills that have become laws, including the Salary Standardization Law and the New AFP Modernization Law. 

In 2016, Trillanes ran for vice president and campaigned against then Davao City Mayor Rodrigo Duterte. He has since been among the chief executive's fiercest critics. 

Trillanes began his lawmaking career in 2007, when he ran for office behind bars. He was detained for rebelling against then President Gloria Arroyo. 

He was pardoned by President Benigno Aquino III in 2010 that Duterte voided in September 2019, which eventually led to his arrest and release.

Trillianes is the chairman of the Senate committee on civil service, government reorganization and professional regulation.

LIST: Get to know the graduating senators 2


Sen. Loren Legarda, who has been a lawmaker for 21 years, is known for promoting women's rights, sustainable development, quality education and livelihood opportunities.

Among laws she had authored are the Magna Carta of Women, Anti-Trafficking in Persons Act, Anti-Violence Against Women and Children Act, Anti-Child Labor Law, Clean Air Act, and the Solid Waste Management Act.

Legarda is the chairperson of the Senate committees on finance and foreign relations.

In the midterm elections, Legarda was proclaimed as the new congresswoman of the lone district of Antique province, after defeating former Governor Exequiel Javier. 

LIST: Get to know the graduating senators 3


Another military man, Gregorio Honasan advocated for the welfare of state troops, and environmental and agrarian reform in the Senate.

Honasan also joined the 2016 vice presidential race as the running mate of former Vice President Jejomar Binay.

In November 2018, Duterte nominated Honasan as the secretary of the Department of Information and Communications Technology, which has yet to be approved by Commission on Appointments (CA). 

Honasan is the chairman of the Senate committees on national defense and security, and on peace unification, and reconciliation.

LIST: Get to know the graduating senators 4


Sen. Francis "Chiz" Escudero, who became known for being one of the youngest members of Congress at 28, focused on education, tax exemption, and justice and human rights during his time at the Senate.

Among bills the senator authored are the Tax Exemption for Minimum Wage Earners and Increased Tax Exemptions, the Anti-Vagrancy Law, Anti-Enforced or Involuntary Disappearance Act, and the Anti-Torture Act.

Escudero also ran for vice president in 2016, alongside colleague Sen. Grace Poe, who ran for president.

He is the chairman of the Senate committee on education, arts and culture, and the Senate committee on banks, financial institutions and currencies.

In the midterm polls, Escudero was proclaimed as the winner in the gubernatorial race in the province of Sorsogon.

LIST: Get to know the graduating senators 5


Former Sen. Alan Peter Cayetano left the Senate in May 2017 following his appointment as Foreign Affairs secretary by President Rodrigo Duterte.

In the midterm polls, he ran for Taguig City 1st district representative and won against PDP-Laban's Allan Cerafica.


Other senators who sought reelection are Senators Grace Poe, Cynthia Villar, Nancy Binay, Koko Pimentel, Sonny Angara, JV Ejercito, and Bam Aquino.

Villar, Poe, Angara, Pimentel, and Binay placed in the "Magic 12," according to the partial and official results from the Commission on Elections as of Monday, 9 p.m.

Angara and Pimentel earlier attended a dinner party hosted by Sen. Manny Pacquiao for "incoming senators."