Villamil, De Vera shine in Ebdane swim meet

The Philippine Star

Posted at Dec 30 2012 06:26 PM | Updated as of Dec 31 2012 02:28 AM

MANILA, Philippines - Ma. Angela Paula Villamil showed she was a cut above her class as she won five gold medals to lead multiple gold medal winners in the first Rep. Omar Ebdane Swimming Championship which ended yesterday at the Sports Center swimming pool of Iba, Zambales.

Villamil , 12, won all her five events – the 100m freestyle in 1:09.71, 50m butterfly in 34.01 seconds, 50m breaststroke in 42.66, 50m freestyle in 31.68 and the 50m backstroke in 35.68.

Elijah de Vera, 11, also won five gold medals in the 11-12 years category – 100m freestyle ( 1:08.24), 50m butterfly (33.65), 50m breaststroke (43.27), 50m freestyle (31.32) and 50m backstroke (37.48).

The event, 36th leg of the PSL Swim Series and the last for the year, drew over 200 swimmers from 20 swimming clubs.

Former Sen. Nikki Coseteng was invited by Rep. Jun Ebdane to award the medals to the winners of the competition sponsored by Victory Liner and spearheaded by the PSL with the support of Emer Matienzo, Rolly dela Cruz and Biboy Asturias.

PSL president Susan Papa said the swimmers, coaches and parents welcomed the launching of the North Region series and are looking forward to another big competition by January.

“Almost all swimmers from the North are delighted that the swimming competition is open to all,” said Papa, citing restrictions of the national sports association whose competitions are for members only.

The R3 Aquaspeed Swim Club from Caloocan was team champion in the open category while the Zambales Swim Team ruled the novice category.

Most outstanding swimmers for the Open were (Girls) Althea Louise Ocomen (7 years old), Gillyn Rafaella Gonzalvo (8), Chloe Anne Marie Fabic (9), Charize Juliana Esmero (10), Imee Joyce Saavedra (11), Villamil (12), Julianne Khryztelle Torres (13), Xylynn Mariano (14), Mary Angelic Saavedra (15) and Ciela Dela Cruz (18-over).

The boys winners were Ethan De Vera (7), Vaughn Andre Aquino (8), Robin Serranillo (9), Geoffrey James Liberato (10), Elijah De Vera (11), Matthew Tan (12), Christian Jace Briones (13), Aaron John Sollestre (14), Emanuel Joshua Lorbes (15), Shalom Juliano Sabino and Raymund Joshua Sevilla (16), Donell Wayne Sanchez (17) and Gian Daniel Berino (18 and over).

Most outstanding novice swimmers for girls were Bridgette Raine Bultron (5 and under), Cyryll Kristine Bultron (6), Sophia Syyap (7-8), Lovely Pauline Floresca (9-10), Consuelito Danzelle Guarin (11-12), Chelsea Duran (13-14) and Christine Joyce Sumaway (15-17).

The boys winners were Marc Bryan Dula (5-under), Clyde John Diohen (6), Clifford Pusing (7-8), Kelly Clement de Guzman (9-10), John Ed Romanban (11-12), Francis Ethan John Dullas and Marwin Edward Soriano (13-14) and Roilan Mose (15-17).