Champions emerge from nat'l skating tilt


Posted at Dec 07 2014 11:54 AM | Updated as of Dec 07 2014 07:54 PM

MANILA, Philippines – Figure skating champions emerged at the conclusion of the 2014 Philippine National Figure Skating Championships held last November 26-27 at the SM Skating Rink at the Mall of Asia.

Samantha Cabiles topped the Junior Ladies category, while Frances Untalan topped the Senior Ladies. Jules Vince Alpe ruled the Junior Men category.

The gold medalists from the Junior and Senior categories will have the chance to represent the Philippines in next year's International Skating Union competitions.

Other winners include: Ann Cathryn Lagemann (pre juvenile kinder), Aiko Marie Shibata (pre juvenile primary), Charmaine Skye Chua (juvenile), Diane Gabrielle Panlilio (basic novice A), Elia Mariel Mendoza (basic novice B) and Sofia Guidote (advanced novice).

The Philippine National Figure Skating Championships will have a bearing in terms of points that a skater can garner in order to participate in the Olympics and other major international competitions.