Olympic medalists automatically nominated to PH Sports Hall of Fame


Posted at Dec 06 2020 11:40 AM

Olympic medalists automatically nominated to PH Sports Hall of Fame 1

MANILA, Philippines -- Filipino athletes who win medals in the Olympic games will receive automatic nominations to the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame (PSHOF).

The PSHOF Review Committee adopted a resolution to this effect during a virtual meeting last week.

William "Butch" Ramirez, the PSHOF 2020 Chairperson and the chairman of the Philippine Sports Commission, supported the inclusion of the "very few" medalists of the country in the Games.

"Achieving a medal from the most prestigious Games in history is something worth recognizing for a lifetime. They deserve it even without the process of someone voluntarily proving it for them," he said of the committee's decision.

Akiko Thomson Guevara, representing the Philippine Olympian Association in the Review Committee, volunteered to produce the names of all the country's Olympic medalists in the next meeting. 

Only ten Filipinos have won medals in the Summer Olympics. Teofilo Yldefonso, the only athlete to win a back-to-back Olympic medal in 1928 and 1932, holds the record to date. 

The PSHOF Review Committee seeks to have the Olympic medalists honored to ensure that they are never forgotten. 

Among the members of the committee are Games and Amusements Board (GAB) Chairman Abraham Mitra, Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) Secretary-General Atty. Edwin Gastanes, Integrated Cycling Federation of the Philippines Secretary-General Atty. Avelino Sumagui, and University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) Executive Director Atty. Rene Saguisag Jr.

Following the signing of Republic Act No. 8757 or the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame Act, the highest sports award-giving body has enshrined Filipino athletes, coaches, and trainers who made a valuable contribution in Philippine sports since its first induction in 2010. 

Nominations for the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame (PSHOF) 2020 are extended until the end of January 2021.