UAAP: Ateneo claims high school baseball championship


Posted at Dec 06 2018 05:46 PM

MANILA, Philippines—Ateneo carved out a 2-0 triumph over National University on Tuesday to emerge as champions in the UAAP Season 81 juniors baseball competition at the Rizal Memorial Stadium.

The Blue Eaglets swept the best-of-3 series, with pitcher Zach Urbina named finals MVP.

Other Ateneo individual awardees were first baseman Matthew San Juan (most runs-batted in), second baseman Dax Fabella (most home runs) and center-fielder Marcel Guzman (most stolen bases).

The Blue Eaglets dropped both of their games to the Bullpups in the double-round eliminations, but got their revenge in the finals.

Ateneo won Game 1 on Saturday 6-3.

NU's Kiel Olazo bagged the season MVP award, to go with best hitter and best slugger honors, while Rezel Esqulito was also awarded with the most home runs.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.