Football: Collegiate stars get Azkals call-up for Taiwan tilt


Posted at Nov 28 2017 04:57 PM

Ateneo star Jarvey Gayoso has been called up to suit up for the men's national team that will play in a Chinese-Taipei tournament that starts on Saturday. Josh Albelda, ABS-CBN Sports.

MANILA, Philippines—Some collegiate football stars have received call-ups to the men's national football team ahead of the four-nation Chinese-Taipei Football Association (CTFA) International Tournament on December 1 to 5 in Taipei.

The Philippines will play against host Chinese-Taipei, Laos, and Timor Lester. All of the tier 1, "A" matches will be held at Municipal Stadium in the capital city.

The tournament is held outside of the FIFA international match window, meaning club teams are not mandated to release their players for national team duty.

Receiving a call-up to the team is reigning UAAP MVP Javier Gayoso of Ateneo de Manila University. The University of the Philippines trio of Julian Clarino, Christian Lapas, and Kintaro Miyagi were also included in the 23-man line-up.

The full roster is as follows:

1. Nathanael Alquiros (Stallion Laguna FC)
2. Fitch Arboleda (Stallion Laguna FC)
3. Junell Bautista (Davao Aguilas FC)
4. Jaime Cheng (Davao Aguilas FC)
5. Justin Cheng (Davao Aguilas FC)
6. Julian Clarino (University of the Philippins)
7. Reymart Cubon (Davao Aguilas FC)
8. Dylan De Bruycker (Davao Aguilas FC)
9. Ruben Doctora Jr. (Stallion Laguna FC)
10. Javier Gayoso (Ateneo de Manila University)
11. Angel Guirado (Davao Aguilas FC)
12. James Hall (Davao Aguilas FC)
13. Ray Joyel (Far Eastern University)
14. Christian Lapas (University of the Philippines)
15. KIntaro Miyagi (University of the Philippines)
16. Nick O'Donnell (Davao Aguilas FC)
17. Mike Ott (Angthong FC)
18. Simone Rota (Davao Aguilas FC)
19. Yannick Tuason (Stallion Laguna FC)
20. Adam Tull (Kaya FC Makati)
21. Reynald Villareal (Stallion Laguna FC)
22. James Younghusband (Davao Aguilas FC)
23. Phil Younghusband (Davao Aguilas FC)

The tournament is seen as an opportunity for the younger players to experience being part of the national team and show their potential on a higher level.

Team management is headed by Jefferson Cheng as team manager while the coaching staff is led by Marlon Maro (head coach), and assisted by Randolfo Clarino, Marlon Piñero, Ronoel Garfin and Ramonito Carreon.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.