Nominations for PH Sports Hall of Fame extended to January


Posted at Nov 26 2020 12:26 PM

MANILA, Philippines -- The nominations for the fourth enshrinement of the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame (PSHOF) has been extended until January 31, 2021.

"In light of the continuing pandemic, the selection committee has decided to extend the nominations to give equal opportunity for the public to submit their nominations, and for us to study it," said William "Butch" Ramirez, the chairperson of the PSHOF 2020 Committee as well as the chairman of the Philippine Sports Commission.

The committee arrived at the decision after their meeting during the second week of November.

Ramirez added that the committee is also looking into the possibility of hosting the awarding online, due to the current restrictions placed on mass gatherings. 

"We have to make proper adjustments to ensure the safety of everyone," he said.

The PSC chairman was joined by Games and Amusements Board (GAB) chairman Abraham Mitra, Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) secretary-general Atty. Edwin Gastanes, Integrated Cycling Federation of the Philippines secretary-general Atty. Avelino Sumagui, University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) executive director Atty. Rene Saguisag Jr., and Philippine Olympians Association president Akiko Thomson Guevara.

Republic Act No. 8757 or the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame Act, enshrines Filipino athletes, coaches and trainers who have distinguished themselves in their particular fields in sports.

Among the past recipients were Filipino boxing legend Gabriel "Flash" Elorde, Asia's first chess grandmaster Eugene Torre, Asia's fastest woman Lydia de Vega, and bowling world champions Paeng Nepomuceno and Bong Coo.

The committee is scheduled to reconvene on December 1 to finalize other matters, among them the new date of enshrinement ceremonies.