Armstrong's RadioShack team finalized

Agence France-Presse

Posted at Nov 24 2009 03:29 PM | Updated as of Nov 24 2009 11:29 PM

LOS ANGELES - Johan Bruyneel, manager of the new RadioShack team headlined by Lance Armstrong, has finalized a 2010 team roster that includes 16 riders from 16 countries.

"It is a well balanced team," Bruyneel said of the team that will gather for the first time in Tucson, Arizona, in the second week of December.

"We have experienced riders - with some of them I worked already many years in my former teams - but we also have young talents who can develop in the perfect environment.

"I am happy that our sponsors want to invest in the future of cycling. Our main goal will be the Tour de France and other stage races but I am confident that, with these riders, we can perform very well in the one-day races as well."

Seven-time Tour de France winner Armstrong announced the new team during the Tour de France. He finished third overall in the Tour while racing for Astana, his first participation in the race since securing his seventh yellow jersey in 2005, after which he retired.

Armstrong said in August that winning an eighth Tour de France title is his goal.

RadioShack team roster

Riders: Lance Armstrong (USA), Fumiyuki Beppu (JPN), Sam Bewley (NZL), Jani Brajkovic (SLO), Matthew Busche (USA), Ben Hermans (BEL), Chris Horner (USA), Daryl Impey (RSA), Markel Irizar (ESP), Andreas Kloden (GER), Levi Leipheimer (USA), Geoffroy Lequatre (FRA), Fuyu Li (CHN), Tiago Machado (POR), Jason McCartney (USA), Dmitriy Muravyev (KAZ), Sergio Paulinho (POR), Yaroslav Popovych (UKR), Gregory Rast (SUI), Sebastien Rosseler (BEL), Ivan Rovny (RUS), Jose Luis Rubiera (ESP), Bjorn Selander (USA), Gert Steegmans (BEL), Tomas Vaitkus (LTU) and Haimar Zubeldia (ESP)

Sports Manager: Johan Bruyneel (BEL)

Sports Directors: Dirk Demol (BEL), Alain Gallopin (FRA), Viatcheslav Ekimov (RUS) and Jose Azevedo (POR)