La Salle's Mbala runaway winner of UAAP Season 79 MVP


Posted at Nov 18 2016 09:05 PM

De La Salle University's Ben Mbala. Photo by Arvin Lim, ABS-CBN Sports

De La Salle University (DLSU) star Ben Mbala is the runaway winner of the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award in this year’s UAAP men’s basketball.

The Green Archer Mbala racked up 92.4286 statistical points, miles away from second running candidate Papi Sarr of Adamson University who compiled 69.8751 statistical points.

Mbala averaged 20.6 points, 16.0 rebounds, and 2.4 blocks per game.

After two elimination rounds, Mbala had a total of 289 points, 224 rebounds and 17 assists. He also led the league in blocks (33) and tallied 19 steals.

According to Spin, he is the first foreign player to become MVP since Far Eastern University’s Anthony Williams in 1981.

Meanwhile, Mbala’s team mate Jeron Teng came in third in the MVP race with a 57.3333 statistical points.

Wrapping up the top five are Paul Desiderio of University of the Philippines and Raymar Jose of Far Easter University.

Desiderio tallied 55.1429 statistical points, while Jose had 53.6429.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.