MMA: Folayang leads Team Lakay’s victory in 2018 Global Martial Arts Awards


Posted at Nov 09 2018 06:58 PM

Members of Team Lakay were jubilant during the awards night. Handout photo

Former lightweight champion Eduard Folayang won big for Team Lakay and Philippine mixed martial arts (MMA) after he was chosen Martial Arts Hero of the Year at the 2018 Global Martial Arts Awards.

His team also garnered top honors in the prestigious MMA awards night that took place Thursday in Singapore.

Team mate and reigning ONE strawweight champion Joshua Pacio took home the Submission of the Year honors with his modified keylock submission of Thai star Pongsiri Mitsatit in July.

Their Team Lakay head tactician Mark Sangiao was named Coach of the Year.

Baguio-based Team Lakay, home of Folayang, Pacio, ONE flyweight champion Geje Eustaquio, and ONE interim bantamweight champion Kevin Belingon, was also chosen as Global Martial Arts Awards “Gym of the Year.”

Sangiao told ABS-CBN's Dyan Castillejo there's no real secret to their success. He said it's all hard work and passion for the sport. 

"Yung una, yung passion ng mga atleta natin...yung dedication nila. Hard worker sila. 'Yun ang main ingredient para makuha nila ang titles," he said.

Other winners include: 

Male Athlete of the Year: Aung La N Sang

Female Athlete of the Year: Angela Lee

Muay Thai Athlete of the Year: Nong-O Gaiyanghadao

Kickboxing Athlete of the Year: Tenshin Nasukawa

Bout of the Year: Aung La N Sang vs Ken Hasegawa

Knockout of the Year: Brian Ortega (KO of Frankie Edgar)

Martial Arts Journalist of the Year: Manabu Takashima of MMA Planet

Ring Girl of the Year: Lee Ji Na

Event of the Year: ONE: Kingdom of Heroes

Walkout of the Year: Andy Nguyen

Referee of the Year: Olivier Coste

Breakthrough Athlete of the Year: Stamp Fairtex