PVL to wrap up inaugural season with clash of league's superstars


Posted at Oct 29 2017 01:05 AM

The Philippine Volleyball League is set to cap its maiden season with an all-star game on Sunday, featuring the country’s top players and emerging names from the collegiate and club ranks at the FilOil Flying V Center in San Juan.

Open Conference MVP Myla Pablo and Best Setter Jia Morado will lead the elite cast in the women’s division, while Collegiate Conference MVP Marck Espejo and Open Conference MVP Lorenzo Capate headline the men’s division in the one-day event.

The women’s match will be aired live on ABS-CBN S+A and S+A HD at 6 p.m. and via livestream on www.sports.abs-cbn.com/pvl/livestream, while the men’s All-Star game will be telecast on Monday at 4 p.m. 

BaliPure coach Roger Gorayeb will be at the helm for Team Red which includes Grethcel Soltones of BaliPure, Jerrili Malabanan of BaliPure/FEU, UP’s Diana Carlos, Ces Racraquin of Creamline/San Beda, Risa Sato of BaliPure/NU, Kathy Bersola of Banko Perlas, Jasmine Nabor of BaliPure/NU, Jem Ferrer of Banko Perlas, Aiko Urdas of BaliPure/NU, Amy Ahomiro of Banko Perlas, and Alyssa Eroa of BaliPure.

Pablo, on the other hand, will be joined by Morado (Creamline), Isa Molde (UP), Nicole Tiamzon (Banko Perlas), Joy Cases (PAF), Jeanette Panaga (Pocari Sweat), Pau Soriano (Creamline), Bea De Leon (ADMU), Gyzelle Sy (Pocari Sweat), Suzanne Roces (Banko Perlas), and Melissa Gohing (Pocari Sweat) in Team White mentored by Rico de Guzman of Pocari Sweat.

In men’s action, coach Oliver Almadro’s Blue Team is composed of Espejo (Ateneo), Mark Alfafara (Cignal), Capate (Cignal), Jayvee Sumagaysay (Philippine Army/UST), Rex Intal (Cignal), Peter Torres (Cignal), Ish Polvorosa (Ateneo), Timothy Tajanlangit (Philippine Army /UST), James Natividad (NU), Ysay Marasigan (Cignal), and Rence Melgar (IEM).

Team Yellow of coach Vhyl Verayo will be made up of Edwin Tolentino (Philippine Air Force), Fauzi, Ismail (PAF/ Megabuilders/NU, Alnakran Abdilla (PAF), Benjaylo Labide (Philippine Army), Kim Malabunga (PAF/Megabuilders/NU), Francis Philip Saura (Magabuilders/NU), Vince Mangulabnan (Cignal), Nico Ramirez (Sta. Elena), Berlin Paglinawan (Sta. Elena), Rudolfo Labrador (PAF) and Sandy Montero (Cignal). 
Special events will also take place at 1 p.m., when fans get a chance to get their idols’ autographs. Star Music artists Miko and Gab, Yohan Hwang and Marlo Mortel will also attend the event.