UAAP: Daos shines as Ateneo claims three-peat in women's swimming


Posted at Oct 21 2019 03:59 PM

Chloe Daos had another perfect campaign to help Ateneo win the UAAP swimming competition. UAAP

LOS BAÑOS, Laguna – Chloe Daos and Ateneo de Manila University capped another dominant campaign by securing the school's third straight title in UAAP women's swimming, Sunday at Trace Aquatics Center here.

Ateneo added 115 more points in Day 4 to finish UAAP Season 82 with 458 points, topping the four-team meet. It was the school's sixth overall crown in women's swimming.

Besides another flawless campaign by Daos, Ateneo swimming program director Archie Lim credited the school's rookies for delivering.

"We were lucky na madami pumasok din na freshmen, at the same time 'yung mga MVP and leader swimmers namin are still there, so it's just a matter of maintaining the culture and hoping the new swimmers catch the spirit," Lim said.

Daos clocked in a UAAP record time of 2:19.03 in the 200m butterfly to reset the five-year-old 2:19.71 mark of Hannah Dato and complete her third straight flawless, seven-gold-medal haul season.

The Lady Eagles displayed their depth and dominance of the league with a sweep of the said event after Suzanne Himor (2:27.26), Raegan Gavino (2:28.57) and Kristine Santos (2:32.24) occupied the second to fourth positions.

University of the Philippines’ (UP) Cindy Fernandez (31.51 seconds) and De La Salle University’s Nikki Pamintuan (31.70 seconds) rounded out the podium in the 50m backstroke, while Ateneo’s Andrea Ngui (27.65 seconds) and UP’s Angela Villamil (27.89 seconds) did the same for the 50m freestyle.

On the other hand, UP’s prized recruit Erin Castrillo ended her maiden season with a golden double, claiming the 50m backstroke (30.98 seconds) and 50m freestyle (27.23 seconds) titles.

The sprint queen thus captured the Rookie of the Year award with 96 points.

The Lady Eagles had a rookie ace of their own in Nirel Ibarra who produced a golden performance in the 200m breaststroke by finishing in 2:50.63 ahead of teammate Jazmin Chua (2:51.72) and Lady Maroons’ Pricila Aquino (2:52.16).

In the tournament’s final event, Courtney Gray, Chua, Himor, and Marjorie Manguiat teamed up for Ateneo to capture the 400m Medley Relay gold in 4:41.08. UP was a distant second in 4:46.33, while University of Santo Tomas (UST) took the bronze in 4:50.38.

"Yun na, naging challenge for the MVP swimmers namin, to inspire the new ones by showing them to never stop improvement and setting higher goals in spite sa achievements nila or ng team," added Lim.

UP tallied 395 points for second, while La Salle completed the podium with 203. UST had 96 points. 

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.