Asian Para Games: Swimmer Ernie Gawilan, Team PH extend record medal haul


Posted at Oct 12 2018 02:05 AM

A bronze medal by Adeline Ancheta-Dumapong on Thursday extended the Philippines' historic medal haul in the 2018 Asian Para Games in Indonesia.

Ancheta-Dumapong, who won bronze in the 2000 Paralympics in Australia, the first ever Filipina to finish at the podium, picked up a bronze in the 86 kilograms category in women's powerlifting in Jakarta.

Her feat added to the Filipinos' record medal collection, which now stands at 19 — 6 gold, 6 silver and 7 bronze medals.

The Philippines ended up with 10 overall in the Incheon, South Korea Games in 2014 and 7 in the Guangzhou, China Games in 2010. The Filipinos went home without a gold in both editions.

On Friday, Ernie Gawilan looks to make it a hat-trick of gold medals when he takes part in men's 400 meters freestyle S7.

Gawilan has 2 gold and 2 silver medals heading into that competition, where countryman and 2 bronze-winner Gary Bejino will also participate.

Here is the breakdown of all of the Philippines' 19 medals so far:

GOLD (6)

  • Kim Ian Chi (bowling, mixed singles TPB10)
  • Sander Severino (chess, men's individual standard P1)
  • Redor Menandro, Israel Peligro and Arman Subaste (chess, men's team standard VI - B2/B3)
  • Henry Roger Lopez, Jasper Rom and Sander Severino (chess, men's team standard P1)
  • Ernie Gawilan (swimming, 100 meter backstroke S7)
  • Ernie Gawilan (swimming, 200 meters individual medley SM7)


  • Kim Ian Chi and Samuel Matias (bowling, mixed doubles TPB10 + TPB10)
  • Redor Menandro (chess, men's individual standard VI - B2/B3)
  • Archelle Guion (powerlifting, 45 kilograms)
  • Ernie Gawilan (swimming, men's 50 meters freestyle S7)
  • Ernie Gawilan (swimming, men's 100 meters freestyle S7)
  • Josephine Medina (table tennis, women's singles TT8)


  • Jasper Rom (chess, men's individual standard P1)
  • Armand Subaste (chess, men's individual standard VI - B2/B3)
  • Taberna Godfrey (cycling, men's road race C4)
  • Arthus Bucay (cycling, men's time trial)
  • Adeline Ancheta-Dumapong (powerlifting, women's 86 kilograms)
  • Gary Bejino (swimming, men's 100 meters freestyle S6)
  • Gary Bejino (swimming, 100 meters backstroke)

(For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.)