Asian Para Games: Swimmer Ernie Gawilan, chess team deliver more gold on last day


Posted at Oct 12 2018 06:27 PM | Updated as of Oct 13 2018 01:00 AM

National para-chess players Jasper Rom, Henry Roger Lopez and Sander Severino won gold in the men's team standard P1 in the Asian Para Games in Jakarta this week. Courtesy of Janet Tenorio

Victories on Thursday by Sander Severino and his national chess teammates helped to bump up the Philippines' record-breaking medal haul at the close of its campaign in the 2018 Asian Para Games in Indonesia.

Swimmer Ernie Gawilan and cyclist Arthus Bucay also added a title each, as the Filipinos punctuated their weeklong showing in Jakarta with 10 gold medals.

Prior to the national team's arrival in the Indonesia Games, the Philippines hadn't won a single gold in the continental meet.

Severino took a pair of gold in the men's individual and men's team rapid P1 competitions, while Henry Roger Lopez earned a silver (individual P1).

Severino, part of the teams that also won gold in men's standard P1 and men's standard VI B2/B3, collected the most gold with 4.

The national chess side also added 4 bronze medals on the day.

In the pool, Gawilan won his third gold medal of the Games by topping the men's 400 meters freestyle S7.

He earlier won in 200 meters individual medley SM7 and 100 meters backstroke S7.

According to the Paralympics website, an S7 classification is "designated to athletes with one leg and one arm amputation on opposite sides, or a paralysis of one arm and one leg on the same side. Moreover, swimmers with full control over arms and trunk and some leg function can compete in this class."

On the bike, Bucay copped the gold in men's 4,000 meters individual pursuit C5, his second medal after picking up the bronze in men's team trial C5.

According to a breakdown of para-cycling classifications, competitors that fall under the C5 category are those "with least impairment, including single amputation and minimal neurological dysfunction."

The Filipinos' 4-2-4 gold-silver-bronze medal harvest on Thursday upped their overall medal count to 29, a number that dwarfed the country's performance in the 2 previous Para Games.

The Philippines ended up with 10 overall in the Incheon, South Korea Games in 2014 and 7 in the Guangzhou, China Games in 2010. The Filipinos went home without a gold in both editions.

Here is the breakdown of all of the Philippines' 19 medals so far:

GOLD (10)

  • Kim Ian Chi (bowling, mixed singles TPB10)
  • Sander Severino (chess, men's individual standard P1)
  • Sander Severino (chess, men's individual rapid P1)
  • Redor Menandro, Israel Peligro and Arman Subaste (chess, men's team standard VI - B2/B3)
  • Henry Roger Lopez, Jasper Rom and Sander Severino (chess, men's team standard P1)
  • Henry Roger Lopez, Jasper Rom and Sander Severino (chess, men's team rapid P1)
  • Arthus Bucay (cycling, men's 4,000 meters individual pursuit C5)
  • Ernie Gawilan (swimming, 100 meter backstroke S7)
  • Ernie Gawilan (swimming, 200 meters individual medley SM7)
  • Ernie Gawilan (swimming, 400 meters freestyle S7)


  • Kim Ian Chi and Samuel Matias (bowling, mixed doubles TPB10 + TPB10)
  • Redor Menandro (chess, men's individual standard VI - B2/B3)
  • Henry Roger Lopez (chess, men's individual rapid P1)
  • Archelle Guion (powerlifting, 45 kilograms)
  • Gary Bejino (swimming, men's 200 meters individual medley SM6 5-6)
  • Ernie Gawilan (swimming, men's 50 meters freestyle S7)
  • Ernie Gawilan (swimming, men's 100 meters freestyle S7)
  • Josephine Medina (table tennis, women's singles TT8)


  • Jasper Rom (chess, men's individual standard P1)
  • Jasper Rom (chess, men's individual rapid P1)
  • Armand Subaste (chess, men's individual standard VI - B2/B3)
  • Arman Subaste (chess, men's individual rapid B2/B3)
  • Cecilio Bilog, Francis Ching and Rodolfo Sarmiento (chess, men's team rapid B)
  • Redor Menandro, Israel Peligro and Arman Subaste (chess, men's rapid B2/B3)
  • Taberna Godfrey (cycling, men's road race C4)
  • Arthus Bucay (cycling, men's time trial)
  • Adeline Ancheta-Dumapong (powerlifting, women's 86 kilograms)
  • Gary Bejino (swimming, men's 100 meters freestyle S6)
  • Gary Bejino (swimming, 100 meters backstroke)

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.