San Beda, CSB rule NCAA taekwondo


Posted at Oct 12 2017 05:12 PM

MANILA, Philippines – San Beda College claimed the men's title, while De La Salle-College of St. Benilde (CSB) took home the women's crown at the end of the NCAA Season 93 taekwondo competition at the Letran Gym last Monday.

Abram Lance Cuvinar clinched the heavyweight gold medal and the Most Valuable Player trophy to spearhead the Red Jins to their 10th championship after garnering 91 points overall.

Colegio de San Juan de Letran finished second with 64 points, while CSB settled for third with 52 points.

While San Beda dominated the men's division, CSB won the women's side by a mere four points over Lyceum of the Philippines University.

The Lady Blazers finished with 76 points to the Lady Pirates' 72, while the Arellano University Lady Chiefs had 66 to end up at No. 3.

In juniors’ action, Arellano ran away with the crown by amassing a whopping 131 points, leaving San Beda way behind at second with 71 while San Sebastian College finished third with 48 points.

Meanwhile, CSB’s Tristan Cayago and University of Perpetual Help’s Abigail Pacificador copped the men’s and women’s poomsae golds while the Blazers swept the golds in the team events.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.