UST, FEU continue to roll in UAAP beach volley

Camille B. Naredo, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Oct 08 2017 02:37 PM

Reigning MVP Cherry Rondina and the UST Golden Tigresses remain unbeaten in UAAP beach volleyball. Richard Esguerra, ABS-CBN Sports.

MANILA, Philippines – Defending champion University of Santo Tomas and top challenger Far Eastern University continued their unbeaten run in the UAAP Season 80 women's beach volleyball tournament on Saturday evening at the Sands SM By the Bay.

The UST pair of Cherry Rondina and Caitlyn Viray overwhelmed University of the Philippines' Diana Carlos and Ayel Estrañero, 21-7, 21-15, and Adamson's Bern Flora and Chrislyn Uy, 21-9, 21-14, to give the Tigresses a 5-0 record.

The Lady Tamaraws also improved to 5-0, as Bernadeth Pons and Kyla Atienza rolled past Adamson, 21-12, 21-14, and University of the East's Judith Abil and Angelica Dacaymat, 21-10, 21-7.

Both FEU and UST are now assured of spots in the women's beach volleyball Final 4.


Meanwhile, the De La Salle Lady Spikers and the UP Lady Maroons also inched closer to a semis spot after ending Day 3 with identical 3-2 win-loss records.

La Salle's Tin Tiamzon and May Luna turned back UE, 21-17, 21-16, and needed three sets to overcome National University's Roma Doromal and Audrey Paran, 17-21, 21-19, 20-18.

Estrañero and Carlos rebounded from an earlier loss to UST to beat Ateneo's Bea de Leon and Jules Samonte, 21-17, 21-11, allowing UP to move closer to its first semis appearance since the pair of Aia del Mundo and Pau Genido made it to the post-season in 2012.

In the men's division, the Bulldogs' Bryan Bagunas and James Natividad upended the Falcons' Paolo Pablico and JP Yulde, 21-13, 21-18, to stay perfect in four contests.

The Growling Tigers' KR Guzman and Anthony Arbasto prevailed over the Blue Eagles' Marck Espejo and Karl Baysa, 21-14, 21-13, while the Tamaraws' Jude Garcia and Richard Solis topped the Green Spikers' Carlo Sendo and Wayne Marco, 21-12, 21-16, to raise their records at 3-1.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.