Asian youth champ Merwin Tan leads Pinoy bowling team for SEA Games

Brian Yalung

Posted at Oct 02 2019 05:46 PM | Updated as of Oct 02 2019 06:54 PM

The eight Filipino bowlers who will represent the country in the 30th Southeast Asian Games later this year were announced Wednesday.

Leading the Philippines men's team are Ken Chua, Frederick Ong, Patrick Nuqui and Merwin Tan, who won the singles title in the Asian youth championships in April.

The women's side is composed of Liza Del Rosario, Lara Posadas-Wong, Alexis Sy and Bea Hernandez. They were selected from a pool of 12 male and female bowlers.

According to national team bowling head coach Viboy Rivera, the final roster was based on the players' performance in tournaments and in training.

When asked whether hosting the games would give added pressure, Rivera said that it is both an advantage and disadvantage.

"We prepared early in terms of mental skills. For me, there is more pressure if you play in front of your home crowd. You have to prove you have to win and lots of expectations. So these are unnecessary baggage our players are carrying. So we are trying to deal with that," Rivera said.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.