Four more Pinoys into World Ten Ball's Last 32


Posted at Oct 02 2008 10:50 PM | Updated as of Oct 03 2008 08:23 AM

Four more Filipino cue artists barged into the Last 32 of the $400,000-World Ten Ball Championship after surviving a tough line-up Thursday night at the Philippine International convention Center in Pasay City.

Leading the charge in the Stage 2 second elimination round are Manny Pacquiao 9-Ball king Jeff de Luna and national champ Marlon “Marvelous” Manalo.

De Luna beat Serbian Sandor Tot, 9-8, in a battle of tough safety shots. Both players displayed nerves of steel in dishing out clever safeties throughout the match.

The Filipino who had his hair bleached blond especially for the event was down by three racks, 8-5, and at the verge of losing the game when he started a rebound by scored four straight.

Manalo, meanwhile, scored a second win over Italian Fabio Petroni whom he beat earlier in the tournament.

This time, Manalo worked harder in beating Petroni, 9-5. He scored an easy 9-1 win over the Italian during their qualification match-up.

Filipinos Jericho Bañares and Victor Arpilleda also made it into the Last 32.

Bañares, this year’s junior national champ, scored a 9-8 win over Taiwanese Wang Hung-Hsiang.

The 19-year-old pool player earlier beat German heavyweight Thorsten “The Hitman” Hohmann en route to the Last 64.

Arpilleda, a veteran of many international tournaments, also scored an easy ticket to the next round by outing China’s Wang Ming. The score was 9-4 in favor of the Filipino.

Earlier in the day, Demosthenes "Plong-Plong" Pulpul and Leonardo "Dodong" Didal made their way to the Last 32 by beating Jasmin Ouschan and Zhang Shuchun, respectively.

Pulpul ousted female Austrian player Ouschan, 9-8, in a tight match while Didal subdued Chinese player Zhang Shuchun, 9-5.

Of the Philippine’s 13-man contingent to the tournament, only six survived the qualification and elimination rounds.
Participants are going after the $100,000 top prize and a chance to be crowned the first World Ten Ball champ.